We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time's a charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third time's a charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our third stay...and each time I'm more pleased! The hospitality was kind, helpful and so appreciated. We were given an upgrade without asking- our room was lovely. The cookies bedside were a nice touch....as was the happy hour cheese and crackers. !!! Thank You!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    83
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

As one of the few reasonable places on the island that allows kids under 3, we loved our stay. This was our second time. Great staff, great people to get your luggage to/from the dock, great housekeepers, great breakfast!! We love it here and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyruth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Inn on Mackinac came highly recommended, and it didn't disappoint during our 4-night stay! It is small enough to have special personal touches, but large enough that it didn't feel like a tiny B&B. The Staff was quite friendly & helpful - willing to help with local recommendations and enjoyable to chat with. Our room was #203, a Colonial with 2 Queen Beds. Both the room and bathroom were spacious, and it looks as if the bathroom had been updated in the past several years. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic! It was a nice variety of hot and cold items, with plenty of healthy choices. There were other nice food touches such as the afternoon cheese, cracker, and lemonade.....and the evening fresh-baked cookies (left on your nightstand). The Inn's flowers are stunning! There is a lot of heart put into the planning and upkeep of them. The wraparound porch is enjoyable to lounge on, whether day or night. They have their own espresso bar and homemade fudge. We thought their fudge was better than a highly touted local fudge! On a map, it looks like it's far from town, but it is not -- just a few minute's walk away. It is nice to be away from the heart of downtown. Overall, two big thumbs-up for The Inn on Mackinac. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaklyn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had a beautifully decorated room on the 4th floor with a small balcony overlooking the pool. Staff provided a lovely welcoming reception for our group. Breakfast buffet was good and the cookies at night was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in front will have some water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debeliz437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent location in town. Staff were very accommodating. Cheese and crackers and lemonade in the lobby in the afternoon. Room was clean and comfortable except for shower. It was very small with no place to put soap or other shower accessories. Cookies are advertised but if you are not in your room you'll miss them. A lady goes around knocking on your door announcing "cookies". We were leaving to go out to dinner just as she came by so we got our "2". My sister and her husband missed them. Breakfast was good with a variety of choices including waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage. Plenty of juice and coffee. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward0236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Anse, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Mackinac on September 21st and 22nd. We originally booked the Cozy Colonial, but was informed at check-in that we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony. The balcony was big with a table and four chairs! I was a really nice surprise. The motel was warm and friendly with an amazing staff. The free breakfast was great, rivaling any breakfast buffet I have ever had. The have cheese and crackers out every afternoon which makes for a nice afternoon snack. The big porch on the second floor was very nice. Lots of chairs for people to sit on and watch the carriages and people go by. This motel has a lot of extra public rooms to gather and relax before going back out and enjoying the Island. I would recommend this motel to all my friends, and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yooperchick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Inn on Mackinac three times now and I love it. It has the feeling of a bed and breakfast, but with all of the amenities of a hotel. The breakfast is great, you get fresh baked cookies every night, and they have a front porch that is perfect for people watching. I also enjoyed the spa pool. The online discount is great as well. I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellarsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing