We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price”
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2006

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the Inn on Mackinac. The inn itself is quite charming and has character to it. It's not quite downtown which was great - away from all the crowds.

We stayed in a "Deluxe Queen Standard" room on the 5th floor - it was small but quite cozy. (I suppose it would be small if you planned on having guests over, but it was fine for the two of us.)

We enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the people and horses go by - especially in the evening when all the daytrippers went home. However, don't expect to see a nice view of the water or the port... the giant, private mansion across the street hogs the view. (Although it's an architectural beauty - wish we could peek inside!)

The breakfast is decent - nothing to write home about, but hey, it's free. Just your standard continental with oatmeal, pastries, toast, etc. There's also cookies in the evening and tea/coffee available all day.

The spa/pool looked new and clean but we didn't use it.

Overall, if you don't want to pay the exorbitant prices of other hotels but don't want to stay at a smaller B&B, then the Inn on Mackinac will be just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thejoyciecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2006

We stayed one night. The room is small, but we didnt spend alot of time there. The hotel commons areas includes a large porch that overlooks the main street. We sat out there oftrn drinking the complimentary lemonade and tea.

There was a shower only in our room (no tub) but that was OK. Rate included breakfast.

The price was very reasonable and we would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank scottemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2005

The best thing about the Inn on Mackinac is the location. It's down the main street, but not right in the busy section---meaning you won't have to smell horse droppings from your window, and it's not as noisy.

As for the Inn itself, it's an older building. A strange thing---our sink was in the bedroom with a mirror, and there was a separate TINY room with a shower and toilet. The shower didn't work well, and in the morning it was freezing cold---like ice water. Not impressed with the room itself, the beds were pretty crappy too.

The staff was all very pleasant, and it was nice to have our bags picked up at the ferry dock and brought to our room. There is a new "spa/pool", but actually, it's just a large jacuzzi. We didn't use it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gingerk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Our last stay was in Sept., 2002. When we arrived, we were upgraded, at no extra charge, to the beautiful victorian room facing the street and water. After mentioning that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we came back to our room to find a package of their delicious fudge. We will be staying there in October along with my brother and sister in -law who will be visiting from Arizona. We reserved the Fall Fudge and Ferry package, which includes a room for $85 per night, 2 round trip ferry tickets and a pound of fudge. We have never been on the island the first week of October and are hoping that most island attractions and activties will still be available. We have stayed at the Iroquois Hotel in the past, but have enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Mackinac just as much and for a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lindat1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

We loved the Inn on Mackinac (The french write it Mackinac, the English write Mackinaw...) When we got off the boat, the hotel had an attendant get our suitcases and bring them to the front desk for us. It is a short walk from Arnold Ferry to the Inn. Regarding the hotel: the reality is better than the pictures in the brochure! The wallpaper is red floral, the furniture is antique, they even had a sitting area in our room #501!! We took so many pictures of this romantic room! The bathroom is painted a soft sky blue with tiny gray birds painted on, the pedistal sinkS were new, they gave us tons of towels, the room was clean. We enjoyed the package deal, the carriage ride was interesting and fun. (Don't sit in the front row, the horses can stink! Remember that Seinfeld episode?) It was most enjoyable to relax in the tub after the last boat of tourists left and just hear the waves coming in and the clip-clop of the horses (no motor vehicles are allowed on the Island.) Main Street can be busy and crowded during the day so it is nice to experience the peace and quiet of the evening and morning here. On the second floor is a porch to watch the water or read, they also added on the third floor a large jacuzzi with a waterfall! We received in our package a discount of 10% to certain businesses, including French Outpost, their food is fresh and delicious! They have live music, feel-good music that we enjoyed immensely! Their dried cherry cobb salad is great!! The hotel's continental breakfast is cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, yogart. It was fine. The hotel also sells fudge, the peanut butter and chocolate one is so good! They are old-fashioned and romantic, yet the elevator is quick and the bathroom has a heat light and modern conveniences. There are only 4 stations for the tv, but there is so much to see and do here that it does not matter. The hotel likes to add little surprises here and there and are friendly, looking for ideas on how to improve, we couldn't think of any improvements. Enjoy your stay! It is worth the price to get the GOOD room!

23  Thank SJL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £70 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing