We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best variety I've ever seen!”

The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best variety I've ever seen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I had to wait for the Butterfly House to open in the morning, but it was worth the wait! The admission price was reasonable, and they gave us wristbands that allowed us to come back anytime during that day. When we got inside, the butterfly garden itself was a small area that was warm and humid, but that's to keep the butterflies alive. This butterfly house had the most variety of species of all the butterfly houses I've ever been in, even in its small quarters. My daughter loved it when the butterflies landed on her, and she was careful not to harm them. The employees of the butterfly house are very knowledgeable, and after you leave the butterfly habitat there's an exotic bug exhibit, which is both fascinating and a little gross if you're uneasy around insects. Make sure you take the time to browse their little gift shop, and also check out their store on Main Street too. We met the owner of the butterfly house while we were at the Main Street gift shop, and he was super-friendly, charming my daughter and talking to her about the butterflies. Overall, a great company and a relaxing way to unwind after biking on the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mylittlebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    142
    51
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oustanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

So much fun to look at all the different Butterflys and have them lite on your hand. Just gorgeous. Gift shop is cute.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattyandBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Best butterfly house on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

A must visit when on the island! We always make time to visit the Mackinac Island Butterfly House when on the island. So peaceful, and educational for the children. Be sure to check your hair and clothes for hitchhikers when leaving!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Loved this attraction. Calm quiet, pretty butterflies.
It would have been nice to have had more information on the species.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13Amanda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The butterflys were beautiful and gave rise to nice picture opportunities and recordings. They were patient workers too for my young grandson stepped and killed on a butterfly he was two, they said it was alright and were very patient and kind handled with dignity. The house is small but they're beautiful and worth the small amt. they charge its worth making a stop on your carriage tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank langel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing