We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nebraska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I was surprised at how beautiful The Butterfly House was so many different butterflies I did not know there were that many it is small but it is nice inside my sisters took beautiful pictures in there will definitely go back again next year

Helpful?
Thank kat1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    142
    51
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Passed on this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cost was $7 but it was very small so we decided to pass on it. The house itself is very cute though & the gift shop wasn't that great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful butterflies to appreciate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice to experience. A laminated chart to keep helps identify the species. Too bad they have to close it for winter and replace the butterflies every year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tvlcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of butterflies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Lots of butterflies. reasonably priced. short walk from main street. Many different kinds of butterflies very colorful.

Helpful?
Thank christine414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful butterflies,but not much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Being nature lovers, we couldn't resist stopping in to see what The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly house had to offer. The butterfly room is beautiful and there are a number of butterflies there, but it felt quite small and limited in comparison to others that I have visited. Also, unless I missed out on something, I only saw a very few other insects on display. There were more dead mounted specimens than anything else. I felt the cost wasn't commensurate with the experience, so I left a bit disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing