We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
60
37
7
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
37
7
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomcontinental breakfastfront porchbagelssmall pastriesmain streetthree flights of stairsfamily roomfloor roompartial viewno elevatorguest roomswonderful porchother guestsmid junelarge porchfoot traffic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed her 6-11 thru 6-13. We had a great time. Really nice big front porch to enjoy the evenings with a great view. Rooms are good size. We will definitely stay here again. We were able to enjoy the Taste of Mackinac during our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from Mackinac Island, and had a pleasant stay at the Windermere. When I called to book, I selected a third floor room with a lake view, which was awesome! Our room was small - just enough space for a queen size bed, dresser, chair, and a private bathroom with shower stall - but we did not need much space because most of our time was spent exploring the island and relaxing on the front porch. This was my husband's first visit to the island, and he appreciated the location of the Windermere - it is right on Main Street, however, it is towards the end, so it's less crowded, and there is an empty lot across the street, which allows for a full view of Lake Huron.

At night, we did still hear noise from the street, even with the windows closed, so if this will bother you, I would recommend a room on the side or in the back. Even still, we also heard noise from the people in other guest rooms, so perhaps a little bit of noise should be expected. As with all hotels on Mackinac, this is an older property, but it is very well maintained.

Breakfast was very basic - coffee and orange juice (if you get there before the OJ runs out!) and some assorted packaged muffins and pastries.

Overall, this hotel is a GREAT value! My parents have been staying here almost every summer for quite a few years, and I will certainly consider staying here next time we come back! The hotel seems every bit as charming as some of the higher priced B&Bs - perhaps a bit more basic in decor and breakfast, but for tens or hundreds of dollars less in cost, it is well well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful 1 night stay at the charming Windermere. We booked reservations online line and found check-in to be a breeze. Robert, the porter, obtained our luggage from the Arnold Line docks and carried them up 2 flights up stairs while giving us a brief history of the hotel.

Our 3rd floor room was fresh, airy, and immaculately clean! It featured lovely bay windows overlooking downtown, the harbor, and the hotel's large flower garden (there were rows upon row of flower flats awaiting their planting). We were able to open the windows to take advantage of a refreshing spring breeze. The large, modern bathroom came with tub/shower, heat lamps, toiletries, and outside window. The room also had a huge walk-in closet. Not a speck of dust or dirt to be found anywhere - windows, shades, curtains, carpet, flooring, walls, bed linens, bathroom, even the closet, all clean! Both beds were firm and comfortable with pillow-topped mattresses. The regular pillows were not to my liking, but adequate none the less. No TV or phone in the room, but with so much to do on the island, even the kids didn't care!

The main lobby and sitting room were welcoming and home-like with plenty of seating, a large TV, piano, flowers, historical pictures, etc. Relaxing on the large open-air porch was perfect for unwinding at days end and watching the horses trot by, or one could enjoy the view from the adjacent enclosed porch area.

A light continental breakfast was served in the morning with a nice variety of danish, muffins, OJ, and coffee.

The front desk staff, porter, and housekeepers were all quite friendly and helpful.

Certainly the location of the Windermere can't be beat! Located on the main street with beautiful views of the harbor, seconds away from shopping, yet far enough from the noise and congestion of mid-town. Walk across the street to the Windermere's private park and enjoy a light lunch at the 'Doghouse' kiosk while watching the ferry's pass by against the backdrop of Round Island Lighthouse and Mackinac Bridge.

Overall, a wonderful experience of which we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Windermere for 2 nights with our eight month old baby. The porch is wonderful! It looks out over the water, and the street traffic of horses and bikes are right in front of you. We even watched the bridal carriages drive by. The lobby was very pleasant and serene, and our room was clean and comfortable. It was everything we need and wanted in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Even tho it was 45 degrees and very wet outside, the Windermere was beautiful, warm and charming. Lovely Victorian decor, no TV or phone in the room, which becomes a Good thing once you get used to the idea. Room heating was uneven. Nice views from our 2 rooms, one of the water, one of the horses. It was too cold to try out the porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews