We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seabiscuit Cafe

Seabiscuit Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Bet on a good time at Seabiscuit Cafe!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good food, pleasant service. Sweet potato fries were delish and the Great Lakes whitefish plate was good. Larger portion than I expected. Felt like an authentic dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank atxgal718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    284
    101
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastport, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stopped for lunch before going to hotel. Was very busy as the island generally is. We were seated quickly amnd pleasantly greeted. I had a Lobster BLT and my wife a salad. Her salad had very nice vareity of veggies, crisp and fresh. Well dressed. The BLT was on a baguette with chunks of lobster, small shrimp and hickory smoked bacon. It was a large sandwich, very good. Nice conversations with other diners. Good service. I will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had the BBQ meatloaf, which was very good and we were there during happy hour, so the beer prices were excellent. We were happy we found this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pattilake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ask the locals-they say eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

When ever we vacation we always ask the locals where to eat. We asked at 5 different places and all five said "Seabiscuit", so we had to go. We ordered the whitefish - caught fresh that morning and cooked perfectly, juicy, lightly battered and delicious. We also ordered "The Wicked Good Lobster BLT" - it was wicked good and big, and get the sweet potato fries. The locals know this is the place to go

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dumbsignin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Great Pub/Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were lucky enough to sit in the booth by the front window on a recent visit to Seabiscuit Cafe and watch the crowds wander down Main Street on Mackinac Island. We enjoyed the Guinness Cheese Lover's Crock and had a couple of glasses of wine. The Cheese dip was amazing. One of the best I've ever had. We visited the Island right before Memorial Day so it was not too crowded. We've walked by Seabiscuit many times in the past, but it's always been too packed to enter. Glad we finally got a chance to check it out and we will try again in the future for sure. By the way, the movie Seabiscuit was not showing on a continuous loop on all of the TV's, as it says on the website. :( I think they were showing soccer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seabiscuit Cafe also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Seabiscuit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing