We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seabiscuit Cafe

Seabiscuit Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Bet on a good time at Seabiscuit Cafe!
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Went for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great chowder and fries. Excellent Chicago style hotdog with the works. Service was good. Staff was friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdcowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    284
    101
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My new favorite Mackinac menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This place is recommended for good reason. The menu is incredible at any time of day. We came to late for breakfast and settled for lunch. Had a great club sandwich and the best egg salad I've had (sorry Grandma). The menu was so intriguing we came back that night for dinner. Gazpacho could use more purée but the shrimp is a novel twist and it is fresh. The whitefish chowder is astounding. The whitefish entree is IMHO the best on the island. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dining at Seabiscuit Cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Seabiscuit Café has great food. It was a pleasant surprise the first time eating there. It was like enjoying grandma's Sunday dinner. We all ordered something different and shared. Everything was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spicy Pickle Martini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went here twice while on the island. Once to see USA get eliminated from the World Cup games, and once to have the Spicy Pickle Martini. In spite of the loss, we had a great time both days. The Seabiscuit theme is unique and interesting, and consistent throughout.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

True to its name, lots of horse and racing decor. The food and staff are great. We sat next to a wedding party (a lot of those on Mackinac Island), having a great time as well. We will be back to the Seabiscuit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelers80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seabiscuit Cafe also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Seabiscuit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing