We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Stay!”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here while visiting the island during our honeymoon. It was our first expirience with a B&B, and we were beyond impressed. We stayed in one of the King suites with the jacuzzi tub. There were champagne and fresh JoAnn's chocolates waiting for us. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and the peace and quiet of the island. Kristen was a phenomenal hostess and was very helpful in offering suggestions of things to do and insight on the best places around the island. Breakfast was AMAZING!!! We only wish we could have stayed an extra day, but had reservations in the next city on the trip. We will certainly be back to celebrate our anniversary with Market Street Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttobeamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a king jacuzzi suite and loved our stay! It was quiet and very enjoyable. We had our breakfast in the courtyard of a cinnamon roll, hard boiled egg, fruit, and coffee. There were cookies and fudge every afternoon in the parlor. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch in evening and watching horses go by or bikers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rphsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We only stayed for one night, but found Market St. Inn to be clean, well run and well staffed. Quiet location, close but a block off the hustle. Would go back anytime! Fairly priced for the location. Good location for historical interests and great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twillie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and I can't say enough good about the Market Street Inn. Mackinac is fabulous for a getaway anyway, but this place is the best. The staff are personable and attentive and helpful and there are so many thoughtful extras. There's hot water for hot drinks all the time, cookies and fudge every afternoon, candy at bedtime, a fridge to use and baggies and a marker for the food you put in it! We were given complimentary tickets to the Butterfly House and also a bottle of champagne because it was our anniversary.... the breakfast while simpler than many B&Bs was still delicious. The cinnamon rolls were wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Market Street Inn! Kristen was so wonderful to us and we had great fun talking and laughing with her. She gave us great tips about where to eat, and she keeps all of the menus of the island restaurants in her parlor so that you can make the best choice. I think the location of the inn is superb! It is one block back from the main street, yet right around the corner from all the shops, and right next to the walk up to the fort. It was so close to everything, but with a sense of peace. From the window of our room we could look right up to the fort, which I loved. The breakfast was fine for the two morinngs we were there, but it is more like a continental breakfast -- we have been accustomed to an entree at B&Bs where we have stayed in the past. But I must say that it is very nice that they serve it to you personally at your table in the morning, and the courtyard was a nice setting. The staff is happy to get you whatever you want if you ask. We stayed in one of the queen rooms, and we knew from the online photos that it would be small, so we were fine with that. The window air conditioner and the ceiling fan kept the room very cool. The shower is very small -- of course they did the best they could with the space they had in an old house -- but just something to note. We did have the chance to look in one of the king rooms, and it was very nice -- much more spacious! I would definitely recommend a king room if one is available. Thank you to Kristen and her staff for the lovely hospitality!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CindyInDimondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My fiancé and I wanted to celebrate our engagement on Mackinac Island, and Market Street Inn was the perfect choice. We were a little hesitant to stay at a Bed and Breakfast, but as soon as we saw how pretty it was from the top of the fort, those worries were gone! Kristen and her staff treated us like old friends from the moment we walked in the door, and you can see how much they love doing what they do through the excellent service, immaculate hotel, and beautiful property. We stayed in the King Jacuzzi Suite, Room 9 and it was absolutely beautiful. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, the Jacuzzi was wonderful after a long day of exploring the island (trust me, it's a much welcome sight after biking or walking up some of those steep hills!), and they even provided a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our engagement. The location is perfect, right behind Main Street and right next to Marquette Park, which gives you an easy walk to anywhere you want to go downtown, but without the noise of downtown! In the parlor, they have a very handy dining guide, with a separate lunch and dinner menu for every restaurant on the island. We really enjoyed exploring the island, but after seeing most of it our first day and part of the second, we really loved relaxing in the parlor and on the front porch playing cards and just watching the world go by. You can see the park and the historic American Fur Company Store from the front porch. It's like going back in time as you hear the horses and carriages go by. They also included free tickets to the Butterfly House, which is worth a stop if you have a spare half hour or so.The breakfast was delicious! We had breakfast on the patio the first day and in our room the second. I highly recommend the cinnamon roll and the fresh fruit! My fiance got the bagel the second day, that was great as well. They also had delicious fudge and cookies in the afternoon, which we took advantage of while sitting on the front porch. Overall, this was the best place we have ever stayed, and definitely the cleanest, and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suites are worth the price. Take advantage of the dining guide and staff recommendations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Kristen is the perfect hostess. From the moment we stepped through the door until we said our goodbyes four days later she and her staff were warm and accommodating. The rooms were not only picture perfect but wonderfully comfortable at the end of days filled with bicycling and walking. The location is one street off busy Main Street which made the Inn a quiet retreat. While we were there the Inn was filled with guests of all ages which included honeymooners, families and seniors, However, to our surprise the rooms were so quiet. It was nothing to see the different guests mingling on the porch, in the parlor or under the tree canopied garden courtyard. The Inn's special touches of fresh cookies, fudge and hot tea were appreciated between our many activities. We have told all of our friends to visit this beautiful island. And when they do, stay at Market Steet Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tumips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing