We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!!!”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis,in
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Kristin is a wonderful innkeeper and makes you feel so at home ! 3 of us had the apt -and it was delightful -breakfast in the courtyard is so fun - and food delicious-highly recommend !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
206
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Mackinaw Island in September. When we arrived after traveling 13 hours from Pennsylvania, he proposed to me on the shore of Lake Huron! Once we had booked the Inn in July he was in the works on how he would propose, he called Kristen of the Market Street in to get some ideas from her since we had never been on the island. Kristen really was such a wonderful host and great with all the questions we had, which was a lot. He couldn't wait to ask how he had planned it so we arrived and told it he had already asked. She was wonderful and so congratulating! The Market street in was beautiful. Our room was great and so comfy cozy. You have so many choices on where you can have your breakfast so that was fun to change that up some of the days. We took a fishing trip on morning and were leaving before breakfast, but Kristen said don't miss breakfast and the night before brought up some of her delicious muffins to each before our early morning trip. Also at the Market street Inn there is fresh cookies put out in the after noon and there is always tea and coffee available to you. I just can't say enough about this place! Looking back on this trip I am so happy we spent it at the inn. We met wonderful people here and had great talks in the lovely parlor, or out on the front deck and even on the back patio at breakfast. I would tell everyone to stay here on Mackinaw Island, its so clean, great breakfast, and of course the wonderful host Kristen. She makes you feel right at home, and so comfortable. Thanks so much to Kristen for making this trip one we will most certainly never ever forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is our 10 year on the island and our 4th stay at the inn. We will never stay anywhere else Kristen makes us feel at home and we love her company. We always stay four days so we can get in as much as we can but we still do not see everything. Paula the housekeeper is great she takes very good care of us the rooms our always very clean. The outdoor patio is so nice we had breakfast there on our last day. Kristen is what keeps us coming back like my husband says a room is a room we could stay anywhere but Kristen keeps us coming back. It is like being at home only you are on vacation. We will be there next year our 35 wedding anniversary is the first day we are on the island and I cannot wait to see the island and Kristen again. See you next year

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were scheduled to stay at the Chippewa Inn but we arrived early to Mackinac Island and they did not have an opening for the first unscheduled night. I checked Trip Advisor for preferred locations and started calling. We were able to find an open night at the Market Street Inn and it was the best experience we had on a 35 day road trip. Kristen as noted in the earlier reviews was amazing. She made us feel very welcome and we felt like we lived there. She gave us multiple options and suggestions regarding places to visit and eat which were all spot on. Even though she was not always at the front desk there was a phone in the lobby to call her and she immediately responded to the call in a matter of minutes. The room was immaculately clean and very homey. As I noted we stayed at the Chippewa the next night and it was a very nice hotel but we felt like we were just another guest. At the Market Street Inn we felt like part of the family. We were able to interact with the other guests and Kristen at an excellent breakfast which only added to the feeling of being more than just another paying guest. In addition, the cost of the lodging was about half the cost of the Chippewa which made it a great value. We have stayed at several bed and breakfast locations and this is by far the best yet. Thanks Kristen for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Kristen's warm greeting set the tone for our stay at her lovely bed and breakfast. She took care to find out what we wanted to do while on the island and gave us good guidance. The Inn was well-located (near the fort) but far enough away from the center of town to be more peaceful. We felt as if we were in the lap of luxury in our room with its wonderfully comfortable king-size bed and Jacuzzi. I liked the approach to breakfast; we made our selections the night before and it was served wherever we wanted it -- in the garden, in the sitting room or in our room. It was not fussy, just a simple, cold breakfast. All in all, a perfect stay in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenda, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Market Street Inn and cannot think of anything that would have made our stay better. Kristen was very knowledgeable about the island and all of the information and suggestions she made were exactly as she said. We were very pleased with the location of the Inn and felt we could not have picked a better location. We enjoyed people watching from the porch and eating on the patio. We will recommend the Inn to everyone we know and will definitely stay here any time we have a chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Market Street Inn, our first visit to Mackinac Island. The inn exceeded our expectations. Kristen was so friendly and helpful, we felt like we were visiting a friend, flexible to our needs. The inn is centrally located, and close to many of the restaurants and attractions we tried. Very quiet, clean, comfortable, and well decorated. Our room was a standard queen with TV/free internet/ and large bath. Little things like the hair dryer, and soft robes are included. Breakfast on the patio was pleasant with plenty of really good coffee. We valued the inn because it is smaller and more personal than some of the larger hotels, yet with lots of quality.

Room Tip: Standard 1st floor room with queen bed. I did not see an elevator to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Property: Market Street Inn
Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing