We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Inn”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“First Rate Inn”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent is the best word to describe the Market Street Inn. From the rooms to the delicious breakfasts, to the personal attention by Kristen everything was first rate. My mother, aunt and uncle and I spent 3 wonderful nights here in late May. Kristen was wonderful. My Mom had brought her travel pillow with her but was unable to repack it to bring home so she was resolve to leaving it behind. A few days after we returned I found a box on the porch. Kristen had been so kind and sent it back to her. If you are looking for a place to just relax and enjoy your self on Mackinac I would highly recommend the Market Street Inn.

Room Tip: If you can try to get the Garden Suite the extra room and private entrance are a bonus.It was plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Manager at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
What a great family gathering and we were happy to host you all for this reunion. Sleep Well...I love my travel pillow too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
199
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Seven of us stayed here after my daughter's wedding at the Headlands in Mackinaw City. It was more than excellent! Kristen and her staff are wonderful, the inn is clean and comfortable, the location perfect. The inn is one street above the "main drag" and removed just enough so it's quieter and a bit more private. We had breakfast outside on the patio each day. It was peaceful and so wonderful!

We had 3 rooms: the garden suite (room 1), a king suite (room 3) and a queen (room 4?) the garden suite has a living room area with a pull-out sofa, and a separate bedroom. There's a mini kitchen area, with refrigerator, microwave, plates, utensils, etc. Also has a private patio with bistro table and chairs. the bed was super comfortable, and my son said the pull-out was great. the bathroom has just a shower stall, not a full bathtub. My daughter felt it was too small, but she is used to a full bathtub. The king suite was for the newlyweds. Gorgeous room! Had a Jacuzzi tub and refrigerator. The queen room was the smaller than the other 2, but plenty big for 2 people. All the rooms were beautifully decorated.

The house has a comfortable lounge with loveseat, chairs, table, and teas and always hot water. Also a refrigerator if your room doesn't have one. The front porch had chairs and it's nice to sit and watch the horses clomp by.

There were so many little touches that made our stay exceptional. Cookies and fudge are set out in the afternoon. The Inn's postcards have stamps on them! The garden suite has a basket with teas, coffee, and oatmeal! I could go on and on.

I highly recommend Market Street Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A big thank you to the inn keeper, Kristen who made our stay outstanding. Have already booked for next year. The inn is immaculate and in a perfect area, no noise, but close to the Main Street.
Our room was decorated with lilacs which was perfect since we were there for the Lilac Festival street dance coordinated by the West Michigan Boot Scooters. Wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Room number 4 has a big bay window and decorated very beautiful, comfortable bed, WiFi and flat scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As all the other reviewers have said, Market Street Inn is outstanding! This was our first stay in a B & B so we weren't quite sure what to expect - we were thrilled. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite and it didn't disappoint. Kristen, the innkeeper, has a delightful personality and is truly an asset to the Inn. Tammy, who is in the hospitality industry also, is wonderful too!

Tips:
1. Free passes to tour the Grand Hotel are available to guests.
2. Free passes to the Butterfly House & Insect World are given to guests as well - loved this place!
3. The Inn's business cards also serve as admission to the Art Museum - didn't have time for this attraction.
4. Make-up removal wipes are available in the room - one less thing to pack.
5. Fudge as well as cookies are available during the afternoon.
6. The Inn is a short walk to the Ferries.
7. The Inn is just around the corner from Doud's Market. We bought delicious hot sandwiches, pesto pasta salad and a bottle of wine from Doud's and enjoyed our meal on the front porch of the Inn.

We usually don't visit the same place twice as there are so many wonderful places to explore, however this will be an exception. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioParrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As longtime visitors to Mackinac Island, Michigan, my wife and I would classify ourselves as seasoned veterans of the entire Straits area. The location has always been our first choice for vacations.

Our vacation to the island in early August 2013 included a first-ever stay at Market Street Inn. We enjoy the B&B experience; it makes for a wonderful break away from the oft-used chain experience we've all had.

Kristen the innkeeper was a gem! The building itself was just as nice. Our room, #4 on the first floor, was both easily accessible and comfortable. Sometimes at private, family-run establishments, such as B&B's, great care is taken with the decor but can lack a good quality bed. The bed in room #4 was very comfortable -- and quiet.

We enjoyed the inn's proximity to all of downtown. We know well enough that despite Mackinac Island's ban on motor vehicles, Main Street is a major hub of activity with bicycles and pedestrian traffic, especially during the high season! While Market Street is just one block off of Main Street's activity, it is far enough away from the noise yet close enough to get into the thick of it in a very short walk.

Market Street Inn is adjacent to historic Fort Mackinac, which is the source of the cannon fire that 'Eyeisha W' spoke about in her review. Since the fort is a working re-creation of fort life on the island in the 18th century (http://www.mackinacparks.com/parks-and-attractions/fort-mackinac/), it is not overbearing by any means and is a great tribute to those who spent their time protecting the territory. The cannon fire is only at selected times during the day; an equally pleasant sound that comes from the fort at the close of the day's activity is the playing of taps.

At the time of our vacation to the island and to Market Street Inn in 2013, my wife and I immediately considered the inn for our return trip in 2014 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. I am pleased to say that we are including the Market Street Inn as one of our stays in the area! The inn made that kind of an impression on my wife and me!

As a Michigan business owner and professional myself, I appreciate the hard work of fellow business owners and operators who can work at providing such a high level of excellence time and time again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganPhotoRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited May 19-20th for our 25th wedding anniversary. Staying at the Market Street Inn felt like staying with family. It truly was very relaxing, and we felt so welcomed. All the other reviews talking about the food, the clean rooms, the feel of the place are spot on! Kristen is fabulous! I felt like we made a new friend. It was our first experience with a B & B, and we were a little anxious about it until we got there, met Kristin and her intern, Tammie, and both were very nice and gave us lots of ideas for things to do while on the island. We stayed in the Garden Suite with its own private entrance, and just loved it! It's small and cute and fit our needs perfectly! The breakfasts were wonderful, fresh fruit, muffins, cinnamon rolls, juice, coffee, tea. Fresh cookies were left on a plate just inside the front door of the inn every day. Our room came with complimentary passes to the Butterfly House, and the Inn also has guest passes to tour the Grand Hotel, which was a nice savings! The location was great, just steps from the main street, but without the noise. It was a bit cold and rainy while we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy the wonderful looking back garden area, but we plan to return again, so we will make sure to use it then! All in all, a wonderful stay, no complaints at all, and we highly recommend this place! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Suite, it has its own entrance and is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Manager at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for noticing what we love to do! We hope you can come and visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Market Street Inn on May 18-19, 2014 in Room 3. We throughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return next year. Kristen (Innkeeper) and assistants provided for our every need and then some. The room 3 was nicely decorated, clean, and super comfortable, plus it was farly large, included a king bed & two chairs & jacuzzi. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The inn is located close to downtown, is well maintained, and the parlor, porch, and large patio were also very nice. We had our breakfast on the patio one morning. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. One example of many nice touches- it was our anniversary and Kristen had already placed a bottle of champagne in our refridgerator! The late afternoon cookies are also great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwwfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B, Manager at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
So very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We were so happy to have you in the Garden Courtyard for breakfast that morning, our first Garden breakfast of the year, (even though it was a bit chilly!) We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for the great picture of the Inn from up the hill. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Property: Market Street Inn
Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing