We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Time Ever!”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I needed a couple days away and Mackinac Island is my favorite place to be! I had never stayed at the Market St. Inn, and am I ever glad I did! It is quaint, clean, and a wonderful place to get away from it all. The innkeepers, Ann and Dave Colman have really made the Inn a special place to come...they are friendly and understand how important it is for people to feel welcome. They are the ones that really made my stay a happy one!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mica53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

This was my first stay on the island. I was highly looking forward to the trip, and our stay here exceeded my expectations! We took the Arnold ferry over from St. Ignace, a lucky choice of the three ferry lines, as the Arnold ferry dock was the closest to our Inn.....about a 3-4 minute walk! They had our bags ticketed for the Inn at the dock when we departed St. Ignace, and our bags were waiting for us when we got to the Inn. No glitches what so ever, very smooth. We were greeted by Dave's son Aaron, who answered our questions about places to dine and nightlife with mulitple choices to choose from. He was very pleasant, and showed us to our room explaining about how breakfast works, and about the features of our room. As with most of the B & B's on the island, Market Street Inn is over 100 years old, so don't expect your room to be overly huge by todays standards. Rooms back then were a bit smaller than what we have grown accustomed to. So while our queen room was a bit "close", we expected that and were very impressed with the upkeep, painting, flat screen tv, private bath area, and closet/drawer space!! Our room had serperate heat controls for the bedroom and bath area, and they worked perfectly! Also, there was an air conditioner in our room but being mid - October we sadly didn't have use for it : (. When we awoke each morning and went down to breakfast at our desired time, it had just been placed in the parlor and was still nice and hot awaiting us. Coffee, tea, juice, bagels, hard boiled eggs, a fresh sliced fruit cup of several fruits including kiwi, pineapple, strawberry, grapes were delicious. Along with a scrumptious warm cinnamon roll with plenty of cream frosting. YUM!!The Inn is perfectly located just a minute's walk from main street. We also talked with Dave at length one morning and got all the history one could want about the Inn, along with some history of the Island. He was extreemly friendly to us and very knowledgeable. The Inn was immaculate in cleanliness. Our room for the weekend nights ran $135 plus tax, which is a bit of a discount because of the off season rates, which I believe are about $40 more per night in mid summer. With many B & B rooms going for much more than this we found it a very good bargain, at a charming friendly Inn. And can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cohibaIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The inn is at a perfect location for walking everywhere! The room was cute, clean and the inn keepers were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great and perfect size . We would definately stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My husband and I traveled to Mackinac Island for the first time with my sister and her husband. The Inn was just beautiful and perfectly located on Market Street, away from bustling Main Street, but close to everything. It was our first stay at a B&B, and I feel we made a great choice. The Innkeepers, Ann and Dave, were friendly and gave us tips on what to see on the island and good places to eat (and buy fudge)! The rooms were spacious enough and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and filling. Hearing the clip clop of the horses going past the Inn was so charming and relaxing. I highly recommend the Inn to anyone staying on Mackinac Island!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugdog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is an great place to unwind. The Inn is convenient to all the Island's attractions. It is well maintained, clean and reflects the early American charm associated with Mackinaw Island. The staff is very attentive to their guests and the breakfast offering is a real plus.
You will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwieneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Inn is maintained in excellent condition. Rooms are very well furnished with nice feather beds. Continental breakfast surpassed what you would usually expect. Location is also a plus- within easy walking distance of most of the island stores and right near the fort. Inn leepers are very helpful in terms of giving you advice on what to do on the island as well as cetering to your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnsIslandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Ann Colman is an inn keeeper extrodinaire! What a caring, smart and organized individual! She is a credit to the inn. Our vacation was perfect due to her caring and concern. She worried about all the details as much as we did! The inn is lovely and the feeling in the rooms is relaxing and well appointed. The inn is perfect and the staff so wonderful compaired to what you find at most places today. We were pampered for our entire visit! We will be back! Mary Ellen Ritchie

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybermares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing