We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter hide-away”
Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“winter hide-away”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

What an adventure! We stayed at the Pontiac Lodge over the MLK weekend. The fun began when we were greeted at the Arnold ferry dock as soon as we disembarked. Our host loaded our luggage on a sled and one of us got a ride on the snowmobile and the other stood on the back of the sled. What an exciting ride down the main street of town! The room was spacious and clean. We had a huge hot tub in the room and an amazing corner view of the lighthouse out one window and the main street out the other. Next door is the Village Inn, open year round and offering good food and great beer on tap. The island is a literal winter wonderland in January.

Room Tip: The corner room offered a great view and was large. It was very quiet, but we were the only guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sophie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Pontiac Lodge!! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time. Mackinac Island is a winter wonderland and we are glad we could share it with you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    46
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
72
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we are repeated customers and continue to find th pontiac lodge an excellent place to stay, based on price and location. Our latest stay under the new management was enjoyable. We are already signed up for next year !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank upgp1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just checked out this morning from a 2-night stay at the Pontiac Lodge. It was clean, well cared for, and in an incredibly excellent location. It is literally across the street from the Shepler's Ferry Dock, so no cab is needed. It is also right on the main street where all the restaurants and shops are, and a 5 minute walk to the Grand Hotel. Why pay $700+ a night? We were able to walk to the Grand Hotel, where the $10 fee they charge for visiting the place is credited to the $40 lunch buffet offered daily. We were able to tour and enjoy the Grand Hotel for the price of their expensive (but worth it!) lunch. Pontiac Lodge was the best lodging deal we found in town, and we'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Huron room 22 with two queen beds had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and great wi-fy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was only our 2nd overnight weekend stay on Mackinac Island (Aug 3-5). We stayed at one of the resorts the first time, though very nice...this was much better for a couple with no kids in-tow for us. It is literally right there in town & regardless what ferry service you come in on... it should not be an issue to get your bikes & luggage to the lodge (We road just our bikes & checked in, locked the bikes up and walked back to get our bags...that's just how we work). We stayed in Rm #23 (King bed, jacuzzi tub, Main street & Hoban street views). Yes, you will hear some of the night crowd...but it didn't go on all night. & you will hear the sound of the first ferry's of the morning and the last to leave in the evening, but they are reasonably timed for the island. I am a light sleeper and with all the bike riding/walking we did on the island during the day...I slept. Love the idea they are open year round...not that common on the island.
If you are looking for a simple, comfortable, clean, friendly & convenient location without the "fluff & stuff"...this is the place.
The only thing I found needed updating was the bathroom. In general Rm #23 works with the odd space it has available for the bathroom. Some updating is needed but not necessary. Maybe add a small shelf along the windowed wall to help with your bathroom needs could be added.
We would recommend and stay here the next time we stay on the island (Hopefully in 2013).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank springnlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Pontiac Lodge is such a quaint, little property! The location is fanctastic, you couldn't ask for a better spot. Very clean and nicely updated. The pictures do not do any justice! Room 22 was so cute with a blue and white nautical theme. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but 22 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place is great! It was priced very reasonably and my room looked over the main street. The Lodge was with in "spitting" distance to the ferry, bicycle rentals, and a lot of restaurants and taffy stores. Most of all...the Bed was amazing. Weird? I have an account with Hilton and I have never given a review over a bed. Yes...the bed here was amazing. Wanna be on the island yet have a wonderful place to rest...pick the Lodge.

Room Tip: Sorry...I like this place and I wanna keep this place as a little secret for future reference. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arisedragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We had a great view of the main street outside our window. The room was quite large. Loved having the wet bar in the room and the fridge. There is the hustle and bustle of the island happening at various times of the night which could keep up a light sleeper. It isn't bad. We used the air conditioner to help drowned out the noise.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Property: Pontiac Lodge
Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing