We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent the weekend with 3 other couples at the Pontiac Lodge and were very happy with the location as well as the very comfortable beds and cleanliness of each room. The price was reasonable and we didn't have to worry about transportation since everything was in close walking distance. We were right in the heart of everything. I only had one complaint which was that even though the room was cleaned for us the attendant did not make the beds. I think this was probably a one time over-sight. Anyway, I would stay at the Pontiac Lodge again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    46
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Got off the Shepler Ferry walked across the street checked in with bags and went back across the street to rent bikes, room seemed very clean and comfortable we had two rooms, a corner one with a view and a next door room with not as good of a view but quieter and less expensive than the corner room. Wished we would of stayed longer here and skipped mackinaw city.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clawson, Mi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Pontiac Lodge as part of our honeymoon and it was the easiest, most relaxing stay! The hotel was conveniently located across from the Sheplers ferry and a handler carried our bags over for us, and even up to our room! The staff was friendly and helpful too along with offering an afforable rate. The room, a king bed with a jacuzzi tub, was beatuiful, spacious, and clean. The hotel was located in the center of everything. We were a quick bike ride to the Grand Hotel, Fort Mackinac, and all the shops and dining. Location and layout made it easy to shop and drop off our bags before eating, or taking our leftovers back to the room before evening walks. We will be staying here again on our next visit to Mackinac island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in room 22 with 2 queens, refrigerator and microwave. Very clean and comfortable. Great view although you cannot go onto the balcony because it is just part of the roof. Across from Sheppler's so you get your luggage quick. One annoying thing is that there is a T-Shirt shop under some of the rooms. They blast crummy music. Bass sounding coming through our floor from 9 AM until they close the T-shirt shop at night. I went into this shop, it is a shame that the manager of this shop is so inconsiderate of the guests upstairs. I will stay here again though because it is the best value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We looked at number of places to stay on a May 2013 trip the Mackinac Island. We were very happy when we found the Pontiac Lodge. This small hotel was directly across from the arrival dock for the Boat over to the island. The baggage handler actually too our luggage to the hotel for us. We could not have been more pleased. The front of the small hotel was directly on main street. Now let me be clear. If you are going to the island for one or two night and do not want to spend a fortune on a hotel this is the place to stay. You can walk to everything. So spend you time walking about the town and spend your money on food and entertainment not on an overpriced hotel. I would stay here again without reservation. Enjoy Your trip and save some money.

Room Tip: Go onto the internet and view the rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arealhonestreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green bay, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We generally don't like staying in hotels, but I would stay here anytime. It was one of the cleanest hotels I've been in. The beds were extremely comfortable with the fitted sheet fitting nice and tight on the mattress - no bunching. The service was good and the location was very convenient. We didn't have to use any public restrooms because we could just head back to our room for a quick bio-break. It's also right across from both ferry docks which means you can easily carry your own luggage to the room and save on using a service.

Room Tip: We had a room facing main street, which is what I would request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yerocnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daleville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pontiac Lodge from July 17 thru July 21. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was secure parking for our two bikes, one of which is a tandem. Our room was very spacious and had a nice view of main street and we could also see the water. We really enjoyed our vacation and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Property: Pontiac Lodge
Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing