We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was back in college!”
Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like I was back in college!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I'm so torn because I wanted so badly to give two thumbs up. After reading all the reviews, I thought this was going to be our little hidden gem.
Positives: clean, great location, price.
Negatives: there is a bar/restaurant across the street. It was SO LOUD! We could hear every conversation going on just laying in our bed. I have a young son and he heard a lot of swearing. We had to sleep with the TV on so it would drown out the swearing and yelling. We did not get any sleep both nights.
If you are young and don't mind hearing drunk people all night, for the price this is the right place for you. If you are over the loud bar scene, you may want to chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Columbus_OhioAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    47
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
72
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I am currently staying at the Pontiac Lodge, and I didn't want to forget to submit a review so I am writing one now, while I am sitting in the room. You can't go wrong with this place. We are staying in the only room that doesn't have a window, but it DOES have a beautiful skylight that you can remotely open and close. The place is immaculately clean, with everything you need, mini-fridge, microwave, free WiFi, air-conditioner, flatscreen tv, etc. This place must be well insulated, because I haven't heard a single door close in the hallway... either everyone staying here is very courteous and quiet, or we have the best room in the house. The shower is excellent - loved the water pressure, the beds are comfortable, and the rate is more than reasonable in my humble opinion. We highly recommend taking the Sheppler's ferry across, because the walking distance to the Pontiac Lodge from the dock where you arrive is like 80 steps away. The location I ideal, the staff are wonderful to deal with -- both online while booking, and in person when you arrive. I am usually one of those people who is sort of tough to impress, but I AM impressed! Thank you Pontiac Lodge, for making our weekend that much more enjoyable by being a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think this place has a bad room -- seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Location is great, rooms are very clean, and the bed was extremely comfy. I stayed in Room 28 and the room was very spacious and immaculately clean. Staff went above and beyond to make my stay great. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A great place to stay without breaking the bank. The only complaint is the rooms are on main street and there are always going to be very loud patrons leaving the local bars so you can hear everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirlmoeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Amazing location, rooms are very spacious and clean. Friendly staff upon check in. i would stay here again in a heartbeat. Family friendly for my 10 month old and also a great value for the area. Right next
To main strip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfriends00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After seeing the reviews and reviewing the reasonably priced hotels on MI we chose the Pontiac Lodge. The place is a charming little hotel right in the heart of town. Honestly you wouldn't even notice it if you didn't have reservations. All rooms are on the 2nd floor above some shops and the office is located behind the shops on Hoben Street just around the corner. Room 22 was very clean, freshly updated with somewhat of a nautical theme. You could tell the owners take great pride in this hotel. Bathrooms were freshly updated with new hard surface vanity, and nice shower. Beds were very comfortable with newer lines. It also came with a nice counter that included a mini fridge, microwave, and coffe maker. Yes it does get loud since its right on Main St but it didn't bother me any since we were outside most of the time. However I will say its great for people watching though :). There really aren't any scenic views from this hotel. Everything is within walking distance and Goodfellows is right across Hoben. I would highly recommend this place for people looking for a nightlife, younger crowd, or even people with children. Its a great location and has much charm. For the money, this place definitely exceeds most of the other places on the island. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I really liked room 22, yes it could get a bit noisy but it is good for people watching. Also take S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsb318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent the weekend with 3 other couples at the Pontiac Lodge and were very happy with the location as well as the very comfortable beds and cleanliness of each room. The price was reasonable and we didn't have to worry about transportation since everything was in close walking distance. We were right in the heart of everything. I only had one complaint which was that even though the room was cleaned for us the attendant did not make the beds. I think this was probably a one time over-sight. Anyway, I would stay at the Pontiac Lodge again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Property: Pontiac Lodge
Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing