We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Spot”
Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were staying in Traverse City for a week so a one night trip to Mackinac Island seemed like a great idea. After looking at the reviews on TA, I decided to book a room at the Pontiac Lodge. The location is absolutely perfect, right across the street from the ferry and in the center of town. The room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We would do another short trip here when we get back to this part of the country and we would definitely pick the Pontiac Lodge for our hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TMCC_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pontiac lodge is located on the 2nd floor just off main street. Accommodations were large enough for 4 adults and a child. Beds were comfy. BR was a little small. Check in was smooth and easy. Good price. A little loud at night though - bar crawl the night we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I took our 3 year old to Mackinac Island last week and stayed at this wonderful property. We had read reviews about the balcony rooms on Main/Huron Street being noisy at times, so we booked room 29, which is away from the street and has a queen bed and a day bed with a trundle. The office for Pontiac Lodge is not on Main/Huron Street, it is about 50 feet up Hoban Street. The staff was very friendly upon our arrival and accompanied us to the room to make sure we had no problems getting into the room. Room 29 has no windows, but the skylight lets in an amazing amount of light. The powered shade on the skylight was easy to use and nearly silent. The room was fresh and clean and attractively decorated. We enjoyed the small refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bathroom was simple and very clean. Our 3 year old loved sleeping on the trundle bed. The queen bed was comfortable and the numerous pillows allowed my wife and I to sleep easily. The room was very quiet throughout the night. The island was not really busy during our trip and the lady that checked us in said that there were only three rooms booked that night, so I suppose our experience could have been different. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and sharing information about attractions. We had a great stay and hope to return in the future. They are open year round so trips during the off season could be fun.

Room Tip: Rooms 27-29 will be the quietest. Rooms 24-26 are off Main/Huron Street but may have a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thumper1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed two weekday nights in Room 23 during the recent Fourth of July week. The location is great, especially if you use Sheplers Ferry, since it lets you off just across the street from where you check in to the hotel. Our room was quite large,neat,clean,and fresh. We had a large jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, something we don't usually use, but did this time, and it was in good working order. Compared to, say, the Grand Hotel, this place is right in the middle of everything. Restaurants, shops, carriage rides, bike rentals. Nothing is far away. One night was cool enough to open the windows in the front of the room. There was definitely some street noise from below throughout the night, but I sort of liked that. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else if we ever decide to return.

Room Tip: Since I never saw any other rooms,I would say to try and get #23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The management at this hotel was what made this place stand out. Our luggage was misplaced by Sheller’s Ferry and when I made a call to them, they pointed fingers at the porters and all they did was guaranteed our luggage was on the Island. Alan the manager at the Pontiac told us to go have fun and he would locate our luggage. He called all of the hotels on the Island and was able to locate our luggage (it ended up at the Windermere). I feel he went above and beyond what was expected of him.

The Pontiac Lodge is conveniently located to Main Street. Everything downtown was within walking distance. The room was clean and looked like it was recently renovated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1099DebS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Right across from the Sheplers dock is a plus and a curse. Easy access but the horns and the crowds may keep you up of your an early to bed person. Otherwise great accommodations! Spacious clean room. Coffee pot fridge and sink in ours made it very convenient. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jcvelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you're looking for a convenient downtown location that gives you a true, all-around island experience, this is the hotel to stay at. Now with that said, this is not a hotel for someone seeking a quiet nights sleep (take ear-plugs) or looking for 5-star luxury. What you will experience is a clean & comfortable room that gives you a great view of the horses on Main Street to the sounds of laughter from people having great time bicycling down the road. Room 23 has windows facing Main and Hoban Streets from which you can people watch and take in views of the lake and lighthouse. It also has a nice Jacuzzi tub. Night life on the island is lively so expect it to be quite noisy until the bars close. Shepler's Ferry is conveniently located right across the street. Don't waste your time having someone deliver your bags to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 23 has great views & larger than the majority of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeemerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £36 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing