We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Surf City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thankfully we were able to find a hotel just a week prior to our last minute trip. Four of us were traveling however we were unable to find any hotels with two rooms available. Thankfully while talking to the reservation desk they mentioned that this room at the Pontiac (room 24) had a queen bed along with a sleeper sofa which was in the main living area/separated from the bedroom. It was great...had refrigerator, microwave and everything else we needed. AC worked great and the linens were nice also. You can't much more close to the nightlife on Mackinac than this hotel. It's right next to Goodfellows and a short walk to the water on the point. StarLine ferry was across the street as well as easy access to bike rentals. Only drawback that we encountered is that the shop under us cranked up the music at 8pm and it was pretty loud. We were there to bar hop but if you plan on being in bed by 8-9pm than this probably should be addressed before reserving.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    46
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in 2 separate rooms. You can't beat this location for restaurants, bars, shops and in our case, being with someone who can't walk far. A block from the ferry landing. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, modern, and well-appointed with good linens. Mackinac Island is full of rooms that remind one of a grandmother's attic...this is the opposite. Clean, nautical theme. Decent rates, all things considered. No brekkie, but plenty to choose from nearby. Could be improved with breakfast pastries in the lobby, better toiletries, and wine glasses in the rooms. Front desk gal (with name of a white flower) was a bit off-putting, but we learned to avoid her. One thing that other guests mentioned so true....can be loud late at night. Popular bar and island worker lodging right across the street. Two of the three nights there was drunken shouting at about 1 a.m. Luckily, we are all good sleepers.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street, away from Goodfellows bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This year was our 20th time staying at the Pontiac Lodge for the Chicago-Mac race. We Love the rooms. We love the central location across from Sheplers and the fact that we could hear our friends out on the street. We love the staff that treats us like long lost family they see once a year. We have our room booked for next year already!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Rooms off main street are quieter. We like the rooms overlooking Main Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was on the island for a wedding and was looking for a more reasonable place to stay than where the wedding was being held and I came across the Pontiac Lodge. It was exactly what I was looking for-good price,great location and modern rooms. The free wi-fi worked great. The manager was very helpful and walked me down to the dock to help me locate a missing bag. There is no complimentary breakfast like some of the other hotels so you may want to bring along some snacks/breakfast items if you don't want to dine out for breakfast. I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: I was in room 27 which faced a bar-it was a little noisy at night but nothing too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were staying in Traverse City for a week so a one night trip to Mackinac Island seemed like a great idea. After looking at the reviews on TA, I decided to book a room at the Pontiac Lodge. The location is absolutely perfect, right across the street from the ferry and in the center of town. The room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We would do another short trip here when we get back to this part of the country and we would definitely pick the Pontiac Lodge for our hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMCC_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pontiac lodge is located on the 2nd floor just off main street. Accommodations were large enough for 4 adults and a child. Beds were comfy. BR was a little small. Check in was smooth and easy. Good price. A little loud at night though - bar crawl the night we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I took our 3 year old to Mackinac Island last week and stayed at this wonderful property. We had read reviews about the balcony rooms on Main/Huron Street being noisy at times, so we booked room 29, which is away from the street and has a queen bed and a day bed with a trundle. The office for Pontiac Lodge is not on Main/Huron Street, it is about 50 feet up Hoban Street. The staff was very friendly upon our arrival and accompanied us to the room to make sure we had no problems getting into the room. Room 29 has no windows, but the skylight lets in an amazing amount of light. The powered shade on the skylight was easy to use and nearly silent. The room was fresh and clean and attractively decorated. We enjoyed the small refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bathroom was simple and very clean. Our 3 year old loved sleeping on the trundle bed. The queen bed was comfortable and the numerous pillows allowed my wife and I to sleep easily. The room was very quiet throughout the night. The island was not really busy during our trip and the lady that checked us in said that there were only three rooms booked that night, so I suppose our experience could have been different. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and sharing information about attractions. We had a great stay and hope to return in the future. They are open year round so trips during the off season could be fun.

Room Tip: Rooms 27-29 will be the quietest. Rooms 24-26 are off Main/Huron Street but may have a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Property: Pontiac Lodge
Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing