We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Small Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We visit Mackinac Island every year - hopefully a few times each summer - and have enjoyed staying at the Small Point . The location is quiet and provides fantastic sunrises as a bonus to a fun-filled day of biking and joining the various Island activities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargaretPierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at this B&B with 3 friends of mine while on a trip to Mackinac Island celebrating the upcoming wedding of one of my friends. We weren't sure what to expect from Small Point, as none of us had stayed there previously. It's not a glamorous resort by any means, and like a previous reviewer stated, there are things in the house that could use a makeover, but overall the place is just full of charm and personality! I had such a good experience getting to know our hosts and fellow guests. I woke up extra early just to have coffee with everyone and sit and chat, even though my friends and I were the youngest people staying there. The hospitality is second to none. Everything was clean and well taken care of and all of our needs were accomodated. If you're looking for a fancy hotel with lots of ammenities, this isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a quiet place to enjoy some relaxation and good company, well, you've found it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thegiftofstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My husband & I have very mixed feelings about Small Point. Jim & Judy are wonderful, gracious hosts. In fact, we stayed there longer than we thought we would because they made us feel so at home and were very helpful with suggestions. They even offer bike rentals. The home is clean and the towels are fresh & color coordinated with each room. However the upstairs walls are not in keeping with the period of the home. This 1882 house was obviously refurbished in the 70's. While the downstairs areas are authentically designed and keep with the original time period, the only thing I could focus on upstairs were the hi-lo shag carpets of many colors in the bedrooms. We moved from the lime green room with white wicker as soon as there was availability. We chose one of the front rooms with traditional furniture without orange carpet. It had an amazing view of the lake, that is while peaking between the lilac trees. Those trees detract from what the room has to offer, and desparately need to be cut back to below the porch so that that view is not obstructed either from the bedrooms or the porch. We liked the home's location because it is so quiet. We could occasionally hear the horse taxis go by next door at the resort-- the last stop for taxis. We walked or biked everywhere and had a grand time. As for breakfast, there was plenty of good food, though not home baked. This B&B has great potential for a romantic getaway with some updates like carpet, wall treatments, and a private bath. Right now I think it is better suited to families.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

The Small Point B&B may be one of Mackinac Island's best kept little secrets. My family has stayed at this B&B 4 times, and we have never sat down to breakfast without couples and families who have returned for their 15th, 20th, 25th year, or even more. People love this place, and for many good reasons.

The Small Point is a 19th century (1882) home with beautiful Victorian architectural features. The large wraparound porch, furnished with wicker furniture and shaded from the road by a row of lilacs (oh, to be there in May when the lilac bloom), provides a welcoming entrance. It is also the place to be after a day of touring the island, or to just sit and read or watch the freighters go by. It is among the many delightful features of the Small Point that draws us and many others back, year after year.

As you walk through the screen doors, you step into a welcoming old house that feels like arriving home or to a well loved relative. The large living room is a comfortable place to sit, visit, play a game, work on a puzzle, or watch TV, if you must. The dining room across the main hall, where breakfast is served, is anchored by a large dining table, the kind of table that brings people together and encourages conversation.

Up the broad main stairs are the guest rooms. All the rooms are clean, cheerful, comfortable and spacious. There are various bed configurations available that make them ideal for accommodating families with children. I wish there was an option for a room with a Queen bed, but only full size and twins(in those rooms with extra beds) are available. But the beds are comfortable and we always sleep well. Of particular note are the three front rooms, with the tall windows facing Lake Huron.

All guests share the bathrooms. This has never been a problem for us, but I realize that for some folks, this will be a deal breaker. Too bad. The bathrooms have always been clean and well maintained, and the other guests have always done their bit to keep it this way. We have rarely had to wait for a bathroom, nor stepped on a soggy floor, even with morning showers.

Breakfast at the Small Point is always generous and fresh. Nothing fancy or gourmet, but plenty of fresh baked muffins and sweet breads, fresh fruit, bagels, spreads, hard boiled eggs, juices and endless hot coffee. Everything passes around the table, along with stories, jokes and memories.

Among the attractions of the Small Point, for our family, is its location. It is 3/4 of a mile along Lake Shore Drive, just past Mission Point, and well out of the clamor and commotion of downtown. In fact, it is the last commercial establishment that you pass along the circle road before entering the State Park. The distance may be more than some people want to walk to town, but we rely on bicycles for our transport, one of the charms of staying on the island. Small Point has single speed bicycles available for rent, which was helpful the time that we flew out from NH and didn't have our own bicycles with us.

John and Lois Findley have owned the Small Point for 36 years and have run it as a B&B for 27. Walking in feels like arriving home. They have created a warm and welcoming setting that reflects their own straightforward personalities. This is home and you are on vacation. Relax.

This summer, when we arrived, we were greeted by Jim and Judy, guests for 18 years who have taken over on site management for the Findleys this year. After spending many summers away from home, John and Lois were eager to spend more time at home in Indiana doting on grandchildren during the summer vacation months. Jim and Judy were such a natural standin for John and Lois that I thought they were family.

In short, we love this place. It is one of the most affordable lodging options on the island. It is in a great location away from the downtown chaos. The owners are welcoming and accommodating and the B&B is comfortable and relaxing.

  • Liked — A very comfortable, relaxing place to stay on Mackinac Island.
  • Disliked — No Queen bed option
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NextStopIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Small Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6220 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our location near downtown but away from the hustle and bustle. Our serene wraparound porch offers views of Lake Huron. There is a refrigerator and storage cabinet for guest use. We serve a full continental breakfast with a new menu this year including freshly baked muffins, bagels, English muffins, fruit, cereals and yogurt, fruit and almond granola parfaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Small Point Hotel Mackinac Island
Small Point Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing