We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More time travel”

Colonial Michilimackinac
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.00*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original village of Michilimackinac was constructed by local Indians, and the French, in 1715.
Bismarck, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More time travel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Mackinac is such a historic place, and this is one spot you do NOT want to miss. It's a chance to step back to before the beginnings of this country and feel with those soldiers and native Americans felt and experienced... If you have youngsters, this kind of thing could really inspire a love of history.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    163
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Fort Experience in the area!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was blown away by this experience. It was 10x better than the fort on the island! Loved that you actually saw the archeological dig sites preserved under the rebuilt structures. A lot more interactive than the other fort.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SKTola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We traveled to Mackinaw in the off season, (spring) so it was a very chilly day when we were there. During the off-season, I don't think they have as many interactive exhibits, where actors recreate things, but it was still an enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

Even in the off-season, they shoot the cannon off every hour or so - really fun to watch and hear! While we made our way through the camp, a few other demonstrations were there to watch. There really is something for everyone. Our fairly large group was mixed with young and old, and everyone was entertained.

This location has one of the best views of the Mackinaw bridge. (just my option) but this location can't be beat for taking pics of the bridge. Just make your way down to the shoreline after you first enter.

There are lots of fun spots for photo ops, and also a ton of educational information on the area. Learning the history of the place is really interesting, even for those who are not history buffs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"nice view"”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I like everything that is about how Mackinac came ro michigan including the statues of missonaries and indians.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arrelle_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always fun”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A little on the pricey side but they are always building and excavating so it's really worth it.

It's a nice way to get out of the car for a couple hours when going to the UP.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonial Michilimackinac also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Colonial Michilimackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing