We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Family Owned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Motel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Family Owned”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Motel is my favorite here in Mackinac City. This is my second time staying here at mackinac and these people here are caring friendly and wonderful. Always helping me to accomodate my family and giving us the best. Thanks again for everything! Good breakfast in the mornings!

Room Tip: beach front hotel rooms have personal deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
26
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I understood going here that it was an economy motel, so it was not going to have the amenities of some of the better, more expensive places to stay. However, it felt and looked so dirty that it was not pleasant to stay here. The bathroom probably hasn't been updated in 20 plus years. The tub had lots of rust around the faucet and the whole tub needed a serious scrubbing. There was literally a ring around the tub like it had not been scrubbed and cleaned in ages. Nothing more gross than a dirty bathroom. The towels were small and cheap,rough, and poor quality. Worse than that, many were stained. I tossed one on the floor that had a dead bug folded up in it. No guest wants to use a nasty stained towel. The sheets at least looked acceptable. Speaking of bugs, there are lots in Mackinaw. It's a fact of nature! However, there were hundreds of dead bugs around the balcony door. It was gross going in and out because they were all over the handle and door frame. Sweep once a week at least!

Breakfast is extremely marginal. Cold cereals (that's fine), biscuits and gravy (not a good example of them!), a couple hard boiled eggs. No other breads, muffins, etc. No fruit.

Now for a few good points! The view was spectacular, so the location of the motel is great. Had a lovely view of the lighted bridge at night, and in the morning the sunrise is something else. It was nice to lie in bed and enjoy the sun come up over the Island. The staff was very friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slredmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have been Staying here for the last 10 years. We go at least 2 times a year. It is very affordable and family friendly. Gary and Sue are very courteous and Friendly. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is good . Stuff is always fresh. Love the refrigerator in every room Also have BQ grills of which they supply all the gas for fire pits on the beach wood also supply.View for fireworks is the best in town .We have became friends with the owners. Over the years They make us feel like family. Our children and grandchildren now go and stay here also. Every memorial day weekend are entire family stays . We have stay at our location but after staying with them we stay no were else. Thanks Gary and Sue for all the years . Please make sure if you go to give them a try you won't be sorry .

Room Tip: Stay in a waterfront room for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I travel with our dog. We stayed several times here and thought it was a good value until the last time. One thing is the housekeeper is rude and not very qualified to clean rooms. Dirt and dust left in the corners and under the bed and not friendly. We use to stay twice a year and there was never any issues with our dog. We called about a room a few years ago and there were no issues and we were welcomed back WITH our dog. We made the reservations in advance and we drove over 300 miles for our stay. We get there and the owner then asked me if our dog sheds more in the spring than the fall. Dogs shed ALL year around and very few don't shed. She then proceeded to tell me there was an issue the last time. Funny didn't mention this when we book the reservation? We felt insulted and felt this was rude. We bought sheets and covered the outdated worn carpet and bought lint rollers. The next day I approached her and told her how we felt as nice as we could and even asked for the vacuum and were told we could not do that and she did not mean any harm just there was an issue with dog hair previous. Lets see we pick up after our dog EVERY time unlike others who leave it to be walked in, our dog never barked, and another thing we are respectful of others unlike the couple who rented the room next to us but WE made an issue? We finished our stay and decide on our next visit to go there again maybe that was an off day or something. Then we were told no dogs over 20 pounds! Excuse me but no matter how big the dog the damn thing will shed. We have NEVER gone back again and we advise others to be cautious!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Three motels share one indoor/outdoor pool. Beautiful view and minutes from downtown. The staff are friendly and courteous. Waterfront rooms are very spacious and smaller units are also available at a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller15866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is a quite standard motel, with two adjoining buildings. Stayed in a beach room in the actual Sunrise Beach Motel. Can't really give this kind of motel more than three stars, but for its kind my experience here rates it a 4* motel rating. Bedroom was clean, two queen beds, sliding patio doors to a small patio with chairs, bathroom kind of tired, and no coffee machine. Might not have been so impressed in the summer, because it looks like Mackinaw City is a zoo at busy times of the year. Didn't have continental breakfast, but looked pretty standard - dry cereals, coffee, toast, etc. Has a communal BBQ, and a swimming pool which was closed for the season.
$49 for a night with a view is a pretty good deal - I think it is $80 in high season, which might still be a pretty good deal judging by its location (on the edge of town).

Room Tip: Main floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The room barely had enough area to move around in. The furniture in the room was stained and dirty. The pool and hot tub area was very dirty and we did attempt to use. The breakfast was pretty decent considering it was such a small motel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at a decent place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveO73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#11 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bell's Melody Motel
Bell's Melody Motel
#6 of 8 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Motel

Property: Sunrise Beach Motel
Address: 11416 US Hwy 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sunrise Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing