We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we recommend this hotel. stayed in a king lake view suite and the view was amazing! we could see the bridge from our balcony. you also can watch the fares dock and leave. was also able to see the island. very clean and everyone is so nice. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lolela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I along with our 3 yr old granddaughter stayed 2 nights while visiting friends in the area. The room was clean and the queen and King beds were separated by a wall and bathroom(no door). Breakfast was not much to say good things about except the powdered donuts that our granddaughter loved. The beach out back should be described as a wetland with geese and seagulls galore. Good for swimming, not so much. The personnel were friendly and helpful. For the price this suite type room is a good value but don't count on the amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WmECamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference last year. Went to my room unpacked and went for walk. Came back later that afternoon and laid on my bed. There was a strange smell coming from my bed. I pulled the cover back and there was urine on the sheets. I told the front desk about the situation and they thought nothing of it, like it wasn't a big deal. Wasn't given another room just that they would be up later to change the sheets. I never slept under the sheets the rest of my time there, I used the other bed and slept on top. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel's location is the best if you want a beautiful lake view on Mackinaw city beach. The other hotels are very close to the three ferrys going all day and night to Mackinac Island, so this hotel is away from all that but you can still still all the activity down the beach of the ferrys and boats and the bridge lit up at night.. Beach front suite that means it. The room is larger than most basic hotel rooms having two seperate sleeping areas and a nice big bathroom and a nice counter for coffee and small additional sink and mini frig and microwave.Two tvs located in each sleeping area. It's within walking distance to everything , shops, bars, restaurants and all ferrys going over to Mackinac Island. The room was clean , pillows too huge for me, but that's a personal thing.The night staff was accommodating and welcoming. The desk person in the morning could use some customer service tips as in at least a smile. Breakfast was hot and had a good selection. Overall a great place to stay in Mackinaw city beach.

Room Tip: rooms 2nd floor and up have more privacy on the balcony than the ground floor balcony right on the b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sewing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were traveling with a wheelchair bound person and a toddler. At 1 am the fire alarms went off and the elevator was shut down for 30-45mins. Trapping us on the second floor. After the alarm was turned off we called the front desk to ask questions about what had happened and if we could get a discount on the room. The Manager Phil then came to our suit and told us we had to leave the hotel and accused us of pulling the alarm. So at 2am he escorted a wheelchair bound women and a 2 year old along with family out of the hotel. He was still going to charge us for the room. We were able to transfer to another hotel and we were not charged for the first room. They had a great view of the bridge but I would suggest finding somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view, or a view of he bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hayley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Room was very spacious. Nice view of lake. Pool was very nice although hot tub was small. Breakfast was very good although was the same every morning. Would return and thought the hotel was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwtimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were just looking for a base to launch out of for our Mackinaw stay, and this worked fine. Not great. But decent for a place to sleep and move on.

Pros: Price was good, even for a suite which fit our family (1 king, 1 queen, 1 pull out sofa bed). Room layout was conducive for families with younger kids by having the queen and sofa bed on one side, king on the other, with partial separation by the bathroom between.

Cons: Horrible breakfast. Not even worth offering, in my opinion, and I'm fairly easy to please. The "beach" is a swampy mess of weeds and goose dung.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £63 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing