We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rates!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great rates!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved this cute, well kept motel. We stayed in the King Deluxe which is actually a separate little "bungalow". The decor is dated, but the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds and landscaping were immaculate. The price was half that of the chain hotels across the street. The staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. The location was great as you could easily walk to ferries and all the shops in the city. We would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith6541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    71
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
84
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spencer had been going on and on about his last stay at the Rainbow Motel, so I decided to give it a try. Skeptical, as it has 'Motel' in the name, I was pleasantly surprised how nice this little place is. So nice, I thought twice about giving it a review on TA as to not tip off others and then have difficulty getting a room next time we were in town. The moment we arrived, it was great! Check-in - fast and easy (with a package of local business deals provided), parking spot next to our room, clean (really clean) and comfortable room with microwave, fridge, nice TV, and extra towels....all for $55 a night. It was no surprise that they didn't have any vacancies that weekend while the other larger hotels did. Stay in one of the bigger hotels if you must, but I will be staying at the Rainbow Motel from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencersbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice Staff, Great Location, For the money it was a great value. The kids loved the pool and the hot tub. The room was very acceptable for the price range, clean and comfortable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I absolutely love this motel, it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, clean comfortable affordable and the owners and staff are pleasant and wonderful. I have stayed in both their normal rooms as well as the deluxe and jacuzzi room and I would not trade it for anything. Everything was clean, if you had a problem they are quick to help and offer advice, always good for quick information drops and even provide you with a book of coupons when you check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DamianaDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I cannot say enough about the Rainbow Motel. A clean comfortable hotel in the middle of everything. A wonderful pool with two hot tubs. And I love that I can park right in front of my room. The best part is the prices cannot be beat. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singingscotty20... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a small gem of a mom and pop motel smack dab in the middle of all of the action in Mackinaw City. We had a comfortable bed, fridge and microwave. If you want faux luxury (and to spend 2 or 3 times more), stay at one of the chain motels instead. If you want to be very comfortable and be able spend your money on other activities, then stay here. You can walk to almost everything in town. Compared to all of the cookie-cutter chain motels nearby, it is almost comically cheap. The staff and service aren't cheap at all, however. They obviously take pride in their family-run business. Never used the pool, but it looked good as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a self-contained unit that was like our own private cottage. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scienceczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just wanted a cheap place to rest our head on our road-trip and the Rainbow Motel didn't let us down. With all the rooms off the main street, the area is lovely and quiet and within walking distance to both the shops/restaurants and the ferries. All the staff we met we're welcoming and accommodating always greeting you with a smile. The rooms are very clean, although a little small and perhaps a little dated but nice enough. We did have problems with the water temperature in the shower (which additionally was a little on the small size) was barely warm at all, however the water for the in room jacuzzi was fine.

Nevertheless, we would certainly use this motel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jray2436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Property: Rainbow Motel
Address: 602 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing