We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly staff (of one), great value.”
Review of Capri Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capri Motel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Clean room, friendly staff (of one), great value.”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a 28 or 29 room no frills seasonal motel. The on-site manager is the only employee and I believe he would go out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

If you're looking for spacious rooms, modern furniture, alarm clocks, or flat screen TVs, then you should check out one of the more expensive hotels in the area. But for less than $60 a night you get a clean room, a shower with a lot of water pressure, and great place to lay your head.

I will stay at the motel again, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
11
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is sick , their is splotches all over the carpet the air conditioner doesnt work and it has a horrible musky smell and the beds are like rocks and the bathroom door didnt even clothes , the only good thing is the shower the shower is really high pressure and it gets warm fast , but if you have another choice go their not here this place is not worth the money !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adort113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,401 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stopped at this mom and pop motel about midnight on a Thursday night. It said OPEN in bright lights. We pulled up to a lighted office, with no one in it and locked doors. The phone next to the door had instructions to call for service. OK. I called and the lady on the phone was very friendly and quoted us a price of $45. Fine with us. We were only staying the one night. About 10 minutes later, up walked a young lady (16 to 20 maybe), with an angry look on her face with an attitude to match. She yanked open the door and it was obvious she had been sleeping. I tried to make light of it by asking her if I had woken her and she said, "Yes, that is right, I WAS sleeping." Well, excuse me. She told us we could not park our car/camper in front of our room, or along the pool, as it would block the other guests' cars. Not so. She said we'd have to unhitch in the "back" in the "grass" somewhere. No room to do that, either. We just parked along the picnic area and didn't block anyone from their room or parking lot in general. She also stated 10 AM was the check out time as they need to do business the next day. OK..

Our room was very basic-everything worked OK though. Shower pressure was excellent. Basic towels, bed was comfortable. No alarm clock-so who is going to wake us up in time to leave at 10 AM? We called the office-but it doesn't ring through. We called the motel's number and it went again to the nice lady at the beginning of our stay. Apparently, a series of motels has a nighttime operator answer their calls for them and then she must call whomever is working that particular motel's desk that night. I told her of my experience and she said she would let them know about a wake up call at 8: 30 AM and that not to worry about leaving right at 10 AM. We never got the wake up call and we left by 10:15 AM. When we dropped off the key the next morning, another young lady was working and she didn't say a word to us.

So, service was terrible, rooms are fair-definitely older motel that could use a bit of a spruce up. Nice grounds and very nice pool. Small picnic area with a BB grill and swings. I stayed here a few times as a child and have fond memories of it. Good parking lot-recently repaved, or so it looks. Clean. Minimal continental breakfast-don't bother with the watered down orange juice though-horrible. Coffee not much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Rooms are basic and not very clean. Rooms are from the 70's. This is what you get in Mackinac for $58 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rw0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Capri this last weekend. The Port Huron to Mac Yacht race was this weekend, so many of our usual places to stay were already full. The first thing we did when we got into town was stop at the Tourist info center. We picked up some brochures and coupon books and noticed that the Capri had a 10% off coupon. We stopped there first (the Capri is RIGHT across the road). To make sure we were getting a good deal we drove around and checked out the prices at 5-6 motels in the area first before checking in. Many similar places were charging $100 or more an night, so we came back and checked in. We got our room for under $70. The gentleman at the front desk was very polite and eager to help answer questions about where to eat, etc. We got our key (the old fashioned kind), and went to our room. The room was small, but clean. The TV had many cable channels, but no premium movie channels. The beds were comfortable, not luxurious. The best part was the shower head. It had so much pressure, it felt like standing under a waterfall (you could fill the tub in under 5 minutes). The property has a swimming pool witha 9 foot deep end, but the diving board has been removed. At the rear of the property is a shaded grill and picnic area with a swingset for the kids. Getting to all of the local attractions was very easy because the place is just across from the I-75 ramp and rest stop. Mancino's Pizza and Grinders is next door to the north and has really good pizza. I'd definately reccomend the Capri to the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Stop at the Tourist Info Center for a 10% off Coupon, then cross the road (very easy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#25 of 39 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#24 of 39 in Mackinaw City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Property: Capri Motel
Address: 801 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9726
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing