We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget room”
Review of Capri Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capri Motel
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Seemed clean. 7:30 breakfast start was not that convenient for us. Less highway noise than most places. Not that far from other places. Owners also own two budget motels just south. Wifi worked in this one. They let us leave car here while we took ferry.

Room Tip: Far from highway
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgruhl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Capri Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

The reviews for this motel are misleading. My suspicion is that the motel is writing their own reviews to increase business. The room we stayed in smelled like cat urine, and had mold growing under the sink. We asked for a different room which appeared at first to be better. In the middle of the night we were woken by bugs, upon inspection they were confirmed to be bed bugs. The management was not helpful and denied that they had bed bugs. We were able to capture a few in between plastic cups for proof. Reluctantly they refunded our money, however having to check out in the middle of the night ruined the next day of our vacation. Also the expense of having to clean all of our belonging to avoid bringing the pests home was extremely inconvenient and unacceptable. Do not believe the good reviews for this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SmithM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Clean rooms and closest to highway. Wife and I went to the Dark Sky Park nearby and enjoyed seeing the unobstructed view of the Milky Way. This hotel is all we needed to rest up from a day long drive up north. We left for the UP next day and felt refreshed. Low cost was our goal.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit #28 and it was fine with us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The rooms are clean for the most part. Our shower curtain appeared to have mold on it which I did not care for especially when you can replace a shower curtain for a few bucks. There wasn't an exhaust fan in the bathroom so we had to keep the door closed a long while after going #2. It was noisy at times especially in the morning because every time the neighbors turned on the water it would make a high squealing noise and we would hear the pipes shake. If you need any amenities this place is not for you. There is Wifi, a tv and an alarm clock. There is no phone, fridge, iron, or anything else you may need. The place is run down and things do need replaced like window curtains and shower curtains. All that being said the price is right and probably the lowest around. If you are on a budget this place would be ok for a night but I would not want to stay longer than that.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bailey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here on a motorcycle trip. We don't stay in ritzy places on cycle trips as we only stop long enough to sleep and then we're back on the road. We look for a clean place, with a low price. The Capri was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are clean, everything works, it's just a little dated. Shower was nice and warm, a touch short for me, but I'm 6'5". The beds were firm but comfy. There were enough channels of TV to keep us entertained as we winded down. No alarm clock in the room, but we all have smartphones with alarm cocks, right? We could park our bikes right in front of the room which was nice, and there were some plastic chairs on the porch out front to sit on and enjoy the evening. It was quiet, comfortable, and clean. And it was 20 bucks less than anything else in town. We didn't try the outdoor pool, but it looked good. Breakfast was bagels or cereal. The bagels were good, nothing fancy, but I usually like to go out for a big meal to start the day. The staff was friendly, other than check-in I had no interaction with them, as I had no complaints. There was a Coke machine and an icemaker available.

Not a fancy joint, but clean and cheap. If I was on a multi day trip where I would be hanging out in the room alot, or trying to impress my significant other I would have spent more on a fancy joint. If you're traveling on buisness, passing through quickly, or on a budget like we were, I would highly reccomend it. Had everything we needed, and was 50 bucks less than anything on the waterfront. Ideal budget accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KawiVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Wi-Fi worked well, the shower was hot and lots of water pressure. The manager was courteous and fun to deal with and a continental breakfast was provided to boot. Not a bad deal for $50. Would stay here again. A little off the beaten path which was fine with us too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#25 of 39 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#26 of 39 in Mackinaw City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Address: 801 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9726
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £58 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing