We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pancake Chef

Pancake Chef
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and our family have ate at the Pancake for many years. It remains high on our list of eateries in Mackinaw City.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeaconMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    211
    101
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The food was so good! The service was wonderful and with tons of smiles. Prices are higher but not atypical for Mackinaw city. Enjoy the chicken tenders with fries or the breakfast pasty!

Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

In general, the food from the dinner buffet was OK. The restaurant could use a real chef that knows how to really bring out the full flavor of the food. Staff was friendly. Say Hello to George.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SatisfactionRequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“ok breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

food was good, service was good, price was reasonable for a tourist town. pretty hard to screw up a breakfast, get it out hot is probably the key to success and they served it hot. good job.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great service...great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have to say the waitress Kathleen was super nice and friendly. She made our visit special. Our food was great except for one item. My wife order blueberry pancakes that were excellent. I ordered the corned beef plate for supper with a side of hash browns and sausage. My hash browns and sausage were great, the rye toast was great, however the corned beef was below average. It was canned corned beef that was browned to a crisp. I felt like I was in boy scouts again at summer camp. I would come here again, just pass on the corned beef.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancake Chef also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Pancake Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing