We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!”

Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Lumberjack Show Tickets
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shepler's offers 5 different Lighthouse Cruises through the Straits of Mackinac. Each cruise is narrated by the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers Association. A portion of the proceeds from each cruise go to help with upkeep and restoration of area lighthouses. See the full schedule and buy tickets online.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When crossing over to Mackinac Island, we sat on the top level of the ferry. What fun we had, even though I froze...my fault for not bringing a jacket. All employees were most pleasant. One-way travel time is approximately 20 minutes. On the way back from the island, we sat on the top level again, although we were two of only four brave souls to do so...all the other passengers were afraid to get wet and sat below in the protected room! The weather was overcast and a little misty, but this time I wore a hoodie and was comfy. My recommendation is to always sit on the top level!! We had a blast both times...Enjoy!!

Thank Mimi010310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mimi and thank you very much for choosing to ride with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed - even with the inclement weather! We hope to see you again on your next visit and until then, safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mackinac island"
in 500 reviews
"overflow lot"
in 27 reviews
"great service"
in 133 reviews
"grand hotel"
in 85 reviews
"great ride"
in 113 reviews
"mighty mac"
in 124 reviews
"text message"
in 23 reviews
"shuttle service"
in 30 reviews
"return trip"
in 72 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 82 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 28 reviews
"minute ride"
in 22 reviews
"top deck"
in 62 reviews
"carriage tour"
in 30 reviews
"your luggage"
in 44 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 44 reviews
"overnight parking"
in 31 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

by checking the schedule, you can select one of the ferries to choose one that takes a little detour and goes under the macinac bridge. fun!

Thank terrifurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings and thank you so much not only for riding with us, but also for posting. We love seeing five star reviews from our guests and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed. Thanks for visiting Michigan's Crown Jewel and we hope to see you again many times into the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ferry was fast comfortable with personable staff. Seating inside is air conditioned or you can ride up top in the open air. Ferry takes bicycles and strollers. On time. Recommend.

Thank Tahoebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you very much for riding with Shepler's for your Mackinac Island experience. We appreciate you taking your time to post and offer a wonderful four star review. Until next time... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always take Shepler's to Mackinaw Island each year. Staff are fun, and there are a few trips in the morning that take you out under the bridge before getting to the Island. Very nice ride.

Thank sdepoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you so much for riding with us year after year. We appreciate you returning and choosing Shepler's. Thank you for the GLOWING five stars and we look forward to next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good transportation to and from Mackinac Island, ships are well maintained and on time. Staff is friendly and inviting and always ready to help

Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Gabriel and on behalf of our entire crew here at Shepler's, we thank you for choosing to ride with us and for posting. We love seeing the glowing five stars and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing