We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else, not so much.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Great room layout with privacy for bedroom area. Across from ferries. Only positives.
Negatives: No way to cool sitting area. Breakfast below average. Coffee not reachable by anyone under 5'6' or handicapped. No yogurt. Food barely average. Plumbing backs up. Elevator extremely difficult to reach and use. Can't adjust water temp in tub. Pool too cold to swim.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madre0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights. We traveled with another couple and they as well as us enjoyed our stay. Yes the hallways smelled weird but our room was nice. No bugs, no dirty carpet as in lots of reviews. Front desk girl was nice especially the one when we booked our room. The breakfast was ok. The sausage and gravy was not like anything I've ever had but there was plenty of other things to choose from. All in all this is a nice place to stay. I would stay there again even tho I'm sure I'll never be back in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmustang06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

.....with all the horrendous reviews - including one of mine previously submitted -.why people keep making reservations here? If a hotel has more "1 star" ratings than any other isn't that a key indicator it is not a good place to stay? I also "love" how the management only replies to the (few) positive reviews - never acknowledges PAYING guests issues or negative feedback - in person or via Tripadvisor. That speaks volumes right there. Unfortunately, this is privately owned but if you do have issues call Head Office in Ohio. THEY will listen. I often check out hotel reviews for the ones I have previously reviewed - just out of curiousity and to see if other guests felt the same. I am so disgusted with this place on every level I had to put another 2 cents in.

Room Tip: Tip - don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUGGAGETAGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked this hotel specifically for the water park for our 4 year old daughter.... The water was so cold she could barely get in (and she will pretty much swim in anything) we complained to the front desk several times but nothing was done. At checkout, the manager told us the waterpark was "always at 75 degrees" and basically accused us of lying about it being cold...he was rude and did not care at all that we were unhappy. We also witnessed another woman complaining about the cold water to the staff and they completely ignored us all. The breakfast was average, but the breakfast room smelled like mold, as did all the stairs and hallways leading to the water park. Our room was ok, but everything else was a complete disappointment.... We will never stay here again-their service was atrocious,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Two Nights in an overpriced and cramped two-room suite - connected by a single walkway that stuffed in a small kitchen, a closet, and a single bathroom. Hardly suite-worthy, and certainly not worth the almost $800 bill for two nights. Breakfast was skimpy, the water park was nice, but not that inviting. Granted, it was the busiest weekend of the year....and our view of the parking lot was stunning.

Room Tip: Go across the street to the other Comfort Inn, but book well in advance of a holiday weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is not your normal Comfort Suites Hotel, first we are sent to the 4th floor of an adjacent building when the elevator only goes to the 3rd floor, then go across to another building and cut thru the breakfast area (that was shared with 3 other hotels) and up another flight of stairs to a small single area room. This room did not provide the normal in room safe as Comfort Suites always do, the fridge was so tiny you could hardly fit 2 litre bottles in it, also no freezer space as ordinary Comfort Suites will provide a separate couch and sitting area, a place to work with your computer, and a medium size fridge with a small freezer in it for reusable blue ice. This place provided non of the above, but when looking out the windows the screens had fish flies and spiders all over them. This hotel never locked any of the outside doors as a quality hotel would after 10 or 11 pm and force you to use your key card or the main front door. The carpet was filthy in the room and in the hallways as our bare feet proved that very fast in our room. As for the complementary breakfast this was the normal Comfort Suite type spread, only this hotel shares the breakfast with 3 other hotels, so the line was a minimum 1/2 hour long every morning, and non of the customers seemed happy about this, it was very clear by the grumbling and conversations taking place the 1st day at breakfast and did not even attempt to get anything the 2nd day as the line was just as long as the day before. Must give credit were it is due, the bed was solid and firm, and the bedding was clean as was the bathroom and shower. The staff was not rude but if and when you passed them they would not even acknowledge your presence. Also the trash cans around the hotel were jamb packed with trash (if you could find a garbage can) and did not seem to be emptied on a regular basis. This hotel was horrible and I would make every effort possible to stay at another location as Mackinaw City was a real jewel and had a great time in the area. This hotel is a dump and that is a very kind description for this facility

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, they do not lock outside doors at night so anyone could just walk in, complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel to stay at! I first read the reviews before I booked our hotel, at first I was a little worried. However, after arriving I very quickly realized that the reviews were completely false!!! This hotel was extremely clean and the customer service was great! The water park was perfect for my two young boys, and I loved the large pool. The free hot breakfast in the morning was really nice. I will stay here again next time I come the mackinaw city!

Room Tip: Right across the street from the ferries to mackinac island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark

Address: 722 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618 (Formerly Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing