We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here in early August but I forgot to do a review when we got home until I found my picture on my phone!

We really liked this hotel, great location near the bridge park and short walk to downtown tourist area. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the wine tasting fun.

We went down for the wine tasting and were joined by only one other couple. They had some cheese and cracker and five kinds of wine, plastic cups and it is all self serve. I tried all five wines and found a few I had never tried before and would buy them. The room seats about 14 people and also serves as the breakfast room. We ate breakfast downtown.

While I did not try the pool some other adults were in there just before closing and said in was nice and warm, it looked clean also.

The cat did jump up onto the counter as we checked in but the place did not smell of cats or any signs of cat hair. We were worried about the cat, not being big cat lovers, but this didn't seem to be an issue at all.

It is an older hotel but very well cared for a nicely decorated as we stayed in one of the themed rooms up stairs. Parking was not an issue.

The bathroom (tube/shower and toilet) was small in a small room but was clean and big enough not to be a problem for anyone not in a wheel chair. I think it had a curve shower rod. The sink was outside in the room.

The TV could have been up higher as it was sitting on a table and hard to see from my side of the bed.

We would not hesitate to return to this hotel on future trips. Sorry for such a late review.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    71
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for one night before heading to the island. Innkeepers and staff were ver nice and had great recommdation for dinner. The room was charming and very clean. The bed was on the firm side for my personal taste, but that is the only critical thing I can say. The view of the bridge and water makes this a great location for a great Michigan vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I travel with our dogs. We stayed here before without dogs and asked and they accepted dogs only in certain rooms. The rooms are nice and clean, managers are very nice and respectful. We have stayed in other motels in Mackinaw and they do not compare with American Boutique! In fact we are going there for a week starting tomorrow and can't WAIT! Again best hotel in Mackinaw with friendly staff and clean rooms you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: we love the end room because there are less doors to slam around you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We found this delightful motel to be as close to a bed and breakfast as you can get without being a bed and breakfast. It was very clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We will return.

Room Tip: Theme rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamandbonnie, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Barb... We really enjoyed having your senior group stay with us. It was a pleasure to serve you. As you know we opened up the hotel a week early to accommodate your group. We're looking forward to your visit with another group in may 2014. Winter well.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I brought a group here in May 2013 for a night's stay before we headed on to the Island. DO NOT B DECEIVED BY THE EXTERIOR. The rooms are furnished with unique movie themes and are very very charming & comfortable. The owners, Bill & Bonnie could not b nice and more accommodating. Where else can you stay with the "owners" right there on the premises. This property is located right across the road from the city park which runs along the water way - great photo op for the Mackinaw Bridge and light house. We plan on returning again this year.

Room Tip: Each room is different. All are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelebrationB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This place is certainly not your average corporate chain motel... It's so much more than that!!! I feel that it was ran more like a bed and breakfast which was an awesome and unique experience. Very quaint and classic rooms. We stayed in the "Gone with the Wind" room. The grounds around the building are kept up very nicely. Planted flowers everywhere, fountains, in-ground pool. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating, free breakfast in the lobby, and excellent view of the bridge. It's also within walking distance to the ferry and all the shops. This was an excellent place to relax!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Austin, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed there. The owners are very friendly & gracious - always making us feel very welcome. Tried a themed room this time -- it was charming and very clean. The cheese & wine tasting in the evening was so much fun -- had a great time meeting & talking with everyone there; the location is perfect - you can walk across the street to the lighthouse or take a walk on the beach to view the sunset and Big Mac. It was another wonderful experience and we plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#11 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Property: American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing