We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biker friendly and a terrific place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biker friendly and a terrific place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This motel is just wonderful. The owners make you feel right at home and cater to your every need. Perfect location and quaint atmosphere make it a definite repeat for us! We were part of a large group (5 couples on motorcycles) and Terry was the perfect host! He even supplied towels to dry off the bike seats when it rained! He drove us in his personal car to a local store for supplies and had a great WARM fire waiting for us when we arrived. Great job. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBryant5226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
79
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Could not ask for a better place to stay, blocks from town but what really made this place was Terry, the owner. Very personable and customer oriented. Only stayed one night but will definitely come back again. I did a search online to find a place to stay in Mackinaw City and chose this place based off of their excellent reviews.

Room Tip: themed rooms so be sure to check them all out, very unique. There is even a room with stove and frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montague, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This motel was a breath of fresh air. Terry was extremely cordial and the room was clean and comfortable. This motel is definitely the place to stay in Mackinaw City. Thanks, Terry and we will let you know if we get any Buick memorabilia in our antique mall that you may like :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Love this place! It's home away from home! We come up every year in September and it's the perfect place to stay. The rooms have every necessary amenity, and are always clean. Terry takes care of anything else we have ever thought to ask for. It's close enough to take a walk into town, and the bonfires are wonderful. Thanks again Terry for a wonderful weekend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Recently spent a week here and loved the location, friendliness of the owners, and rooms within my budget. Would stay again. The owners treat everyone like family, which is nice when traveling solo. Walked everywhere in town from the location, they also have bikes. Nice firepit when the nights call for it.

Room Tip: The single room is small but then I'm not there to spend time in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertAlberta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Proprietor Terry took time to provide customer service. When an extra day opened up, he called. The rooms were clean and the area quiet and safe. We walked or took the courtesy bicycles everywhere. Residential area is within a couple of blocks or beach, ferry, downtown shops and restaurants and even not far from the Fort state park. Rooms were small (built probably in the 40's as a strip right-angel motel. The front was graced with antique car that gave the place extra ambience. I would return in a heartbeat and bring the extended family to fill the ten bookings available. We could tell stories into the wee hours around the pit fire container. A memory maker.

Room Tip: Bring your own helmets for the bicycles/tricycle. Rooms have coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to the Upper Peninsula. It's a popular little place and walking distance to the downtown core as well as the lake and the ferries to the island.

The owner is super friendly and helpful. The place is clean and nicely decorated. The only downside is the the rooms are very, very small. The bed takes up the whole room!

However they are dog friendly and the price is reasonable, so I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.9 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Property: Lamplighter Motel
Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing