We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true find...”
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Everyone knows that the owners, Jennifer and Terry, are the reason this is such a special place. The other reviewers have hit the nail on the head with it's convenience, cleanliness, friendliness and "cozy" rooms. We have stayed here many times over the years since discovering it and the latest visit was Fathers Day weekend. Now we only stay elsewhere when "there is no room in the inn" available for us because of the good reviews. BUT....they deserve all of the accolades and business!!

Room Tip: Book Early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamamamaDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Love being In mackinaw city and staying at the Lamplighter! Jennifer and Terry are gracious and welcoming hosts! The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable, as were the gorgeous grounds that is so lovingly tended! We loved siting around the nightly campfire and visiting with other guests. I recommend this for everyone, friends and families alike! This is our place of choice when we are in the area!

Kathy and Allen Lisk

Room Tip: The Up North Room is our favorite room to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have stayed here before and just stayed again last week. It is the only place I will stay while visiting the Mackinac City area. Rooms are small, but very clean. Terry is the best and makes you feel very welcome. It is within walking distance to Mackinac City and Sheplers. Always feel very safe staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macilnd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The Lamplighter is a small mom and pop motel that is well maintain. The owners are very friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Venetian Room and I was surprised at how small the room was. The layout was divided into two bedrooms with a very tiny connecting bathroom. It is ideally located in a residential area. It is approximately 3 blocks from Sheppler's Ferry, the main shopping district and the beach near the lighthouse and fort. I would rate the motel slightly above a budget motel due to the fact that each room has a theme. The room had a small refrigerator/freezer, microwave and coffee maker. A cable TV was in the main bedroom only. There was no hair dryer. Only one can use the bathroom at a time. The towels were slightly better than the cheap scratchy kind usually found at budget motels but the beds and linen were plenty comfortable. It was cool; thus, we did not use the air conditioner. The size of the room could be a negative if you were to spend much time at the motel. There is also no swimming pool to send the kids to if you need a little breathing room but there is a playground half a block away. I have stayed in cheaper and larger in Mackinaw City but you will not get a theme room nor stay in an ideal location.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank worth-voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this motel and found it to be quite nice. There is no fitness center, pool, or hot tub but the rooms were clean and well maintained. The owner, who lives on site, was friendly and accommodating. The motel is located only a couple of streets from Mackinaw City's main business district where there are numerous dining and entertainment establishments. If you're looking for basic "sheets and a shower" lodging, this place would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I have been to Mackinaw City the last few years. Until this year our Hotel/Motel rooms and service has been horrible and we were not going to go back. I was told about the Lamplighter Motel by a friend and let me say we just found the best little place to stay. The owner Terry makes everything feel like your with family. We had a campfire with the other guest every night and me some great people. I highly recommend this Motel. This will be the only place we ever stay in Mackinaw City. Thank you Terry for a great time. See you next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are theme rooms. We stayed in the Somewhere in time room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This motel is a throwback of "mom and pop" days gone by, but still has modern conveniences. The rooms are clean, neat, pet-friendly, and reasonably priced. They offer theme rooms as well. Each room has a journal. You can read entries from past guests, as well as write your own entry. Nice touch! The grounds are well maintained with nice garden areas that give it the feel of "home away from home". This motel is off the beaten path, in a residential area, but is a quick walk to points of interest. The owners are very knowledgeable of the area, events, and things to do, and will be happy to give suggestions. They put a lot of effort in making guests feel welcome and comfortable. Weather permitting, you can gather at the fire to relax with the owners and other guests. This was our 5th annual stay, and we have met several repeat guests over the years. We look forward to seeing Terry and Jennifer year after year!

Room Tip: The themed rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joylynn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 40 in Mackinaw City
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing