We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, small room”
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place, small room”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Quiet location away from other hotels, but within walking distance of shoreline parks and lighthouse. Across the street from a nice little City playground that's great for kids. Very friendly owner, family like atmosphere. Nice groundskeeping, clean, and creative room decor. However both grounds and rooms are quite small. Our 2-room suite did have two rooms but only a few square feet of open floor space. It was nice to put the kids in a separate room, but still a little cramped. Overall a very nice independent hotel for a couple or small family, if for a few nights and if you're not spending much time in the room, which you probably won't in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    26
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
83
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My husband and I have been staying at the Lamplighter Motel since Terry & Jennifer Davis bought it in 1996. The Motel was built in the 1950's and Terry has remodeled every room. Most rooms follow a particular theme and our favorite room is the Somewhere in Time room. It is decorated in a Victorian setting based on the "Somewhere in Time" movie. The rooms tend to be small but we only stay in them for sleeping and they are very clean. The rates are reasonable. The location of the motel is perfect. It is in a residential neighborhood and is only a few blocks from downtown and the Mackinac Bridge. Terry & Jennifer have always made us feel at home. When the weather permits, they have a campfire at night and everyone sits around the campfire and chats. When it is time to leave, you feel you have had a relaxing vacation. I have found the people who stay there quite friendly. The rooms tend to be quiet so you get a good night's sleep. My husband and I have enjoyed the Lamplighter Motel so much that we will continue to stay there when we come to Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The good: Comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood, everything worked.

The bad: Bathroom was like a closet. You could hardly turn around. There was no room to lay out your toiletries. There is a ¼” chip in the porcelain bathtub and there were traces of mildew in the cracks in the shower. Lighting in room was minimal at best. My wife said it seemed like a fisherman’s cabin.

Either I missed something or those who gave rave reviews on Trip Advisor were smoking something at the time they wrote their reviews. If this was truly rated #1 in Mackinaw City by TA, I would hate to see what the other motel/hotels look like. This place is highly overrated and deserves, at best, a minimum two-star AAA rating.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcubed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at the Lamplighter for 2 nights. Its a older motel-style facility that has rooms decorated differently to give added personality. The exterior has been given great character with lights and landscaping. The owners seemed very nice - we really were gone most of the time so there was not much opportunity to interact beyond the basics. The location is the best - walking distance to almost everything - and we did! The lake is only about a block away so you can get a good view of the bridge whenever you want. We walked only a short distance to catch the boat to Mackinaw Island. The room we had was just a tad crowded due to just the lights, chairs, etc. in there but no complaints there. My only suggestion for the owners would be to spruce up the bathrooms which are starting to show their age. At least in our room, there were rust stains around the tub/shower that were not very attractive. The only real negative was the pillows. They were flat, flat, flat and only 2 in the room. Except for that, the bed was actually quite comfortable. I really think had we asked, they would have happily given us other pillows. We just did not ask. I do think the walls are thin so if you get noisy people next door, it could be a problem. Someone checked in with kids who were quite loud and I was concened it would be an issue. Apparently the parents had control, though, and things were fine. I really cannot complain about our stay (except for the pillows). I researched extensively before selecting the Lamplighter. Generaly, other motels/hotels are grossly overpriced and from their reviews, not what they should be given the price. I would have no problem coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigKidsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My family just returned from our stay at the Lamplighter Motel. My expectations were high due to the wonderful reviews on trip advisor.

Great location--downtown was within walking distance for our toddler and preschooler. Also, there was a large playground just across the street from the motel.

Our hosts--were very personable and seemed to think of everything. They had bonfires every evening (weather-permitting) with marshmallows to roast. It was nice to bond with the other guests.
I learned that they have a lot of return business which says a lot.

The rooms--were a bit small (we stayed in the garden room) but was nice to have the two rooms. Wireless internet was great to have to plan our trip as we went. How many motels have that?

Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ont
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I can't say enough good things about the Lamplighter Inn. It is a quaint family owned
motel with unique rooms. The moment we arrived to the moment we left, Terri treated us
like we were family. He gave us suggestions on where to go,and things to do. They really
do have a campfire at night, and we met some great people from all over the country.
Now where else could you say that you ended your day with a relaxing campfire, meeting new people and having lively discussions, at the motel you stayed at? We would recommend the Lamplighter Inn in a heartbeat. We will be back again to visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djsunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, IN
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We booked a room at the Lamplighter because if its high ratings. It met every single one of our expectations. The motel itself is charming, very clean, and quite comfortable. The location is great. It is a short walk to downtown and also to several parks for some beautiful bridge views.
What we didn't plan on was meeting such a great guy as Terry (the owner). Staying with him was like staying at a friend's house. He was very attentive to our needs and went above and beyond anything you would ever hope to find at a larger chain hotel/motel.
If we ever come through this area again, we will not be looking to stay anywhere else.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kshteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Property: Lamplighter Motel
Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing