We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great service! Great price! Great view! Beach and fire pit were a bonus. Best sunset and view of the bridge anywhere in Mackinaw City. Gary and his staff work hard to make you know that they value your patronage. We will be booking again this Fall!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thanks James! It was nice to sit by the fire with you and Heather for a few minutes which I rarely get a chance to do. Just give us a call when you’re coming back up in the fall. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Clearwater Lakeshore is a "diamond" among the lakeshore hotels in Mackinaw City. The rooms are clean, the staff is so friendly and Gary, the owner, will bend over backwards to see that your stay is pleasurable! Thank you Gary and staff for a wonderful vacation memory!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLFranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

SL – I’m glad my wonderful staff and I were able to provide you with great service! We try our best and it means a lot to us when it’s appreciated. We’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Given the reviews that I read, I expected more. The room was okay, but definitely needs some upkeep (new linens, paint, etc.) After checking in, my husband and I walked to the rear of the property (we did not have a view from our room) to see the bridge. Although there were swings provided, they were all either broken or covered in bird "stuff." Upon looking down, I noticed ant hills... LOTS of ant hills. Perhaps they should consider treating the place if they expect people to hang out there? That being said, the room was cleanish (no bed bugs...) and it served our purpose (bed and shower.) The staff was very nice and exceptionally helpful with suggestions about local attractions, food, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only there for one night, but was very pleased. Staff were efficient and friendly. Room was comfortable and cozy. Loved the view of the lake and Mackinaw Bridge. Had brought my own breakfast and enjoyed eating it on the little balcony outside our room. Good WIFI connection. My husband had business to conduct, so even after checkout, I was able to sit in one of the lakeside lounge chairs and read a book until he was done. Only minor complaint was the heavily perfumed smell in the room. The manager might want to tone that down a little. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OhioTraveler846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Ohio Traveler, my wife and I are both strongly opposed to the use of any sort of perfumed/scented product in the motel or anywhere for that matter. Personally I feel it’s akin to second hand smoke, I’m being forced to breath something I don’t care to breath. We use unscented laundry detergent, which is surprisingly difficult to obtain for a commercial laundry machine. We have seen some “air freshener” in one of our housekeeping closets, I asked our housekeepers to keep an eye out for it and dispose of it after your review and a similar comment from another guest. Thanks for the heads up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed one night on a way to the Mackinac Island. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We stayed on the second floor and the view of the lake and the bridge was beautiful. It was a very nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank algreen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the review algreen, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. When we travel on vacation we’re always looking for a place that’s affordable, comfortable, and relaxing. We’re trying to make the Clearwater that sort of place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was great and the view was even better. we had a king bed with a single bed it was great for us and my step son thought it was great he had his own tv in the room with his bed. The Staff was very friendly we will stay there again when go back in a few years.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Robby: I’m glad you liked the room, those King + Single rooms are ideal for parents or grandparents traveling with 1 child. They are difficult to describe over the phone, but once I show people the room they’re all for it. Everyone gets a little privacy without the cost of 2 separate rooms. Thanks for the nice review, we’ll see you when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We upgraded to a Lakefront room-well worth it. Very nice room, convenient to Ferry to Mackinaw Island. Has coffee maker, fridge, table. People were enjoying fire pit. Great view of Mackinac Bridge. Balcony with chairs was great location for sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Robert: “Better than expected” means that we exceeded your expectations which is always our goal. I tell guests when they inquire that the private lakefront balconies in the lakefront rooms just make for an overall better experience. I always try to have the rooms priced so that it’s only a minor upcharge to upgrade from a queen room in the courtyard building to a king lakefront room. I think it’s a good value. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.4 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shores At Mackinaw
The Shores At Mackinaw
#14 of 40 in Mackinaw City
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#18 of 40 in Mackinaw City
956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Lakeshore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lakeshore Motel

Address: 11380 US Hwy 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £51 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clearwater Lakeshore Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles from downtown Mackinaw City and the ferry docks, you can easily access Mackinac Island or explore northern Michigan and the Upper Peninsula. Our Property features 300 feet of sand beach with gas grills, picnic tables, lounge chairs with beach umbrellas, and six well-stocked fire pits for evening camp fires. We offer kayaks and paddle boards for use exclusively by our adult guests. Our indoor heated pool and hot tub are available from 8am-10pm. (8am-11pm Friday and Saturday, Memorial weekend through Labor Day.) All rooms have comfortable beds, a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. lakefront rooms have private balconies and Mackinaw Bridge views. A complimentary continental breakfast is available from 7-10am. Choose from make-your-own waffles, old-fashioned oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, granola, bagels and cream cheese, muffins, breads, and cereal. We also offer gluten-free options and almond milk. Come see why so many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clearwater Lakeshore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Lakeshore Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing