We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, helpful folks, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this motel three nights in mid-to-late July 2014, and really enjoyed it. Reasonably priced. Beautiful view of the bridge. Helpful staff. Nice pool (and they have pool toys there for the kids to use!). Good breakfast. Close to everything, but not in the middle of it. My only "negative" (if you can call it that) is that the room where they have the continental breakfast felt small - but otherwise, no complaints. Will likely stay again when we go back up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We appreciate the nice compliments, Joanne, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have plans to remodel the breakfast room once we close for the season, which should help with traffic flow. We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I chose this motel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and was glad I listened. I haven't been in the area for over 15 years, and the way I remember it, I wasn't expecting much. To my surprise, this hotel was clean, newly furnished, with an extremely comfortable bed. The room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the bridge, a sandy beach, outdoor seating, and a fire pits in which the wood is supplied. Because the weather was a bit cold, we had a chance to enjoy the large indoor pool which we even used the next morning after our free continental breakfast. They were gracious enough to extended check out the next day because my 7 year old and I were having so much fun. Their graciousness was apparent even after check out when, to our surprise, we had a package waiting for us upon our return that included a sweatshirt and stuffed animal my son had left behind. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night using it as a stop along the way to Copper Harbor, but in the future, we will consider this place a vacation destination and stay longer.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newly decorated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you, Kristen C, for the wonderful and detailed review! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and would absolutely love to have you for a longer stay, but we sure hope you don’t wait so long next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Motel! We were traveling with 2 adults and 4 teenagers that enjoyed this hotel greatly. We stayed in a 3 queen bed room on the 2nd floor with a private balcony. There was plenty of room and the beds and pillows were comfy. The bathroom was a little tight but there was a separate counter area for doing hair and sink. I guarantee you will not be disappointed! It was our last night of vacation and we spent a little bit more money to stay on the beach, which considering we had 6 people was really reasonable. We spent the night with the kids skipping rocks, running around the sand and talking around the fire while listening to the lake and enjoying the beautiful sight of the Mackinac bridge. Keep in mind that there was a beach but as you entered the water it was full of weeds and rocks. The water was too cold for our kids to want to swim in it anyway so they just used the pool which was very warm. It was a perfect end to our vacation. We also highly recommend the Pizza Palace downtown....amazing pizza and my son says the burgers were the best he has ever had!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmkz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks lmkz, we love, love, love your review! We have 300 feet of frontage on Lake Huron, which is typically rocky. On our website, I have an “About Our Lakeshore” paragraph where I explain that we have removed any refererence to “beach” from any internet site that we have control of , as I don’t want to mislead our guests into thinking we have a perfect sandy swimming beach where the bottom is sand as far as you can wade out. Those beaches, at least in Michigan, are on Lake Michigan where the prevailing wind and waves have pounded the rocks into sand over thousands of years. I love to go swimming in the cold lake; when I do, I hop in my car and drive the 5 miles over to First Beach on Lake Michigan which is fantastically sandy as well as shockingly cold and refreshing. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We chose this motel for several reasons: the location on the edge of town, not in the middle of the madness, the beach (of course!) and the Trip Advisor reviews. Very happy with the choice. Mackinaw City is not so large that you can't get anywhere in just a few minutes, and this location has a nice view of the bridge. We had a second floor room, the only issue for us was climbing the stairs because we've both had surgeries. We liked the homey family run feel in contrast to the large chains. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review Terry! There is a fairly large number of people who call us and end up NOT booking a room because we’re not right down on the strip with the fudge shops. Luckily for us there are enough people who do enjoy our quiet location to keep us busy! If you return – and we’d love to have you – request a first floor room when you book and we’ll take care of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family stayed at this location late July. It was a beautiful room, awesome staff and everyone was friendly. We fell in love with the fire pits located outside. Also, the Keurig coffee maker in the lobby. The real treat was Linda who worked in the breakfast room. She was very polite and friendly every morning with us. She truly made the continental breakfast more enjoyable.The staff worked really hard to make sure that we enjoyed our stay there and we truly did. We will be back for sure. It was a clean, well run, quiet treasure!!

Room Tip: The suite has dishes but did not have anything to wash them with so bring a dish towel and liquid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shalanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Shalanas, we didn’t realize there was no dish soap in the suites until we read your review. Rest assured that there is now, as well as a couple of other things they were missing! Linda gets up very early 6 days a week to serve breakfast and thinks of it as “her” breakfast room, I try to stay out of her way lest I receive a scolding for messing something up. We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First time back to Mackinac in 28 years. Booked this room at the Clearwater from other reviews on Trip Advisor and was NOT disappointed. Had a 2nd floor Lakeview King room and it was perfect. Clean and spacious for my Husband and myself. Loved our own private balcony and the view of the bridge was amazing. Breakfast was good and had plenty to offer. Pool and Hot tub were great and came in handy on a rainy day. Picnic tables, grills, swings and firepits on property our a nice touch. Staff couldn't have been more accomadating. Would definately stay here again and highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank memeo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for staying with us memeo, and taking the time to write a review. Until about 4 years ago I hadn’t visited Mackinac Island in about 30 years and I’ve lived in Michigan my entire life. I went home and told everyone “Mackinac Island is BEAUTIFUL” as if they didn’t already know that. Thanks for the great review, don’t wait another 28 years for another visit, and come and see us when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This motel is a little off the path but very lovely. Rooms were nicely appointed and were clean with great service. Our family of 5 stayed here and would definitely recommend to other travelers. Fire pit on beach was very nice and this motel was definitely a place I would recommend for others to stay. Continental breakfast was as expected and the staff are all very friendly.
Check this motel out for your next trip to Mackinaw City.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be good but if you do not want other travelers right outside your room ask for a sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mich96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_McGaughey, Owner at Clearwater Lakeshore Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for the review Mich, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay! We print out a couple of reviews for our housekeepers most mornings; they take a great deal of pride when they see a guest refer to the room as “clean.” We really appreciate that you would recommend us to others, that’s the best form of advertising for any hotel! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Lakeshore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lakeshore Motel

Address: 11380 US Hwy 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#1 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £141 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clearwater Lakeshore Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 miles from downtown Mackinaw City and the ferry docks, you can easily step back in time on Mackinac Island, the jewel of the Great Lakes, or explore the magnificence of northern Michigan and the Upper Peninsula. However, with all the amenities at the Clearwater Lakeshore, you may never want to leave. Our property features 300 feet of beautiful sand beach appointed with gas grills, picnic tables, lounge chairs, and six well-stocked fire pits for cozy evening camp fires and stargazing. Want a water adventure? The Clearwater Lakeshore offers kayaks and paddle boards for use exclusively by our guests. Or enjoy our indoor heated pool and hot tub. And, to recharge after a full and fun day exploring and enjoying this pure Michigan location, retire to our rooms with comfortable beds, and the convenience of your very own mini-fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. After a restful night, plan your next day's adventure over our complimentary continental breakfast. Come see why so many of our guests return year after year to the Clearwater Lakeshore Motel. At Clearwater Lakeshore--you have it all. We look forward to having you as our guest! The Clearwater Lakeshore Motel is Independently Owned and Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clearwater Lakeshore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Lakeshore Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing