We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Saloon

Dixie Saloon
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Food was overpriced and arrived cold. The shrimp was ok and the red potatoes were not done and not seasoned at all. We were very disappointed with our meals!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith6541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    348
    266
    175
    165
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birch Run, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very nice family friendly place to eat, our waitress was so nice and could not do enough to make sure we were happy, The food was great! my husband had prime rib and said it was very good, I had a chicken wrap it was very good. I would go back again, food no more expensive than a steak house would be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burger and soccer game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went to Dixie Saloon to watch the Soccer game and ordered burgers in the bar. Burgers were great! Service was average. Server was also the bartender and she got really busy. She did the best she could. Never saw a manager, or anyone asking people how everything was.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Cold beer, not great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived around 5:30 and the restaurant had a 'wait' already. There was room at the bar and we could order ASAP. Unfortunately, we were ignored for about 5 minutes as the staff was mixing drinks directly in front of us. We were finally helped by a waitress who was very nice. The positive of this place is the beer is served in frosted glass and served VERY cold. The crab appetizer was something you could find in your freezer section of the grocery store. We would go back for just a beer...no food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh food. Poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food is overpriced and very low on quality. Hubby said burger had no flavor. I ordered grilled cheese that was completely dry. How do you mess up a grilled cheese? Service was awful. Place was not busy at ll but we were always waiting for our server. She wasn't rude, but she was slow and really acted as if there was somewhere else she wanted to be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Saloon also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Dixie Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing