We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean beach and cozy cottages”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We love this place. This was our second yr to stay. We won't stay any other place but here, have been coming every year to Mackinaw city now for 6 yrs. Have stayed many places but this is the best by far. The owners are very personable and care about your needs and want you to have a good stay. You can build a fire on the beach at night and sit by the water and sun during the day. Shopping is just down the road. Always sad to leave but we know we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crislynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I try to get up here at least once a year. We LOVE the cottages and the owners are amazing! I almost wonder if some of the "bad" reviews are rival cottage/hotel owners but that's just a hunch. We have come here alone and have also brought family and everyone loved it. I will not stay anywhere else in Mackinaw. I've even passed up a chance to stay on the island to stay here. it's my little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This places is off the beaten path, the cottages are so charming, the grounds are beautiful ! You have the lake front, fire pit at night and they supply the wood and anything else that is needed. They have a pool and jazzi. Its not the Hilton but if your looking for the laid back cozy feel and not the big corporation. This is perfect! ( and the owners I can't say enough about! the two of them are the most amazing people, so accommodating!) Pricing fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The cottage I stayed in was very cute. It surely wasn't the newest, it was like spending the night at my grandmother's house. None-the-less, it was very nice. The beds were big and comfortable. The swimming pool was nice. It was very quaint. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jntcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

You are just a mile from downtown Mackinaw City, and for a good price. Rooms started at approx. $60/night for basic rooms, and then go up more for deluxe beach cabins. Very nice beach that gets raked each day with horsehoes, volleyball and a firepit. Owners are nice and helpful and attentive, and the maintenance man is very friendly. We stayed in a basic room which was adequate. Bathrooms could use an upgrade, they are showing their age, but that is my only major misgiving about this place. This was our second year there and we hope to come back for a third.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnowakoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

What a great little place to stay. Very clean. Sure, kinda old and kitschy but these are beach front cabins and I like kinda old and kitschy. Friendly owners and friendly guests. So much better than a soul-less chain hotel. Loved it!

Room Tip: Beach front cabins are the only with a view. The rest are packed into the property pretty tightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was the second year for our 3 generation family to vacation at The Beach House which features little cottages in a "U" shape with the cottages at the bottom of the "U" being situated right on the beach. The cottages are all carpeted, air conditioned, and have TV. The larger ones have a little dorm refridgerator and hot plate for basic cooking. Outside there are picnic tables for each cottage. Along the beach is a vollyball net and a fire pit. The place is comfortable but not posh. Pets are allowed.

We loved that we could step off our little deck and right on to the sand. The water is shallow and our toddler grandchildren could wade and fill endless buckets of wet sand for castles. The owners keep a very clean beach and are careful there is no glass or harmful objects in the sand. They are also very personable and happy to help with suggestions of other activities in the area. It does not hurt that the prices are very reasonable! we definitely plan to return in 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazz1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 40 in Mackinaw City
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 11490 US Hwy 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £68 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is the last stand of cottages on the water in Mackinaw City. We have a beautiful beach, great view of Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw Bridge. Nightly bonfires, kitchenettes available. We are pet friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing