We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible staff.”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My family and I stayed at this location last month and were extremely disappointed. Very rude staff. Hard beds, very flat pillows. You will not get a good nights sleep.
Wall paper is peeling, paint is chipping and the bathrooms are disgusting!
The location is amazing. Great view of the bridge from the beach. The sand is muddy, which they obviously have to control over, but it is disappointing when you have a 3 year old that wants to play in the sand.
All in all, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSmithsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent one night in a beachfront cottage and were satisfied with our stay.We got a great rate through AAA, so it was very affordable. Yes, as other reviews have stated the cottages are outdated and could use an upgrade ...BUT the view is great, the beach is nice and the cottages were clean. We liked the charm of the place and found it a nice change from the chain hotels. It was like a step back in time. The owners were super nice and very helpful with any questions we had. We enjoyed sitting on the beach and viewing the super moon. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

we like the room at first but we booked a room for a king size bed the took my money up front before we had a look at the room,walked in it was two what called queen size beds which we did not need for the two of us.the beds were both up the wall not good for us so we move the one bed out from away from the wall so we did not have to climb over each other to get out bed.the road noise was horrible couldn't sleep the first night at all,beds were hard,pillows were a joke so bring your own,no shampoo,or kleenix,no fan or window in the bathroom,grounds were well kept thanks to fred,beach well kept but smelly cleaning staff was great and friendly the frig was way to small,had to request a microwave rooms were clean heating and cooling was good,pool was nice and the whirl pool was nice also but there was not a place to change and no rest rooms which i thought was weird you had to walk back to cabin wet and i just wonder how many people walk all the back to the cabin to go to the bathroom?the thing why we will never stay there again
is when we and my adult kids we having a cookout the owner lady maxine walks over to our table stared at our table and asked are you having a cookout and then asked my kids where are you staying which i don't think was any of her bussiness how rude can you get? and the walked her two dogs right in front of us when we are eating pretty strange i think so i advise to look around plenty of places around to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just returned from a wonderful (although chilly) weekend at The Beach House. It was perfect for our family of four. We rented a beachfront cottage with two queen beds a kitchenette, and it was so clean!! The beach is gorgeous and we used the pool and hot tub, too. (I would recommend bringing your own beach towels as no extra towels were provided.) It reminds me of vacationing with my parents when I was young, and now I was able to do the same with my own family. The cottage was warm, cozy, clean and very kitchy/vintage-y...and we loved it!! The view can't be beat. Even though it was overcast when we left, my husband said he would have liked to have stayed if just to sit on the couch and look out the window at the lake. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomOfThreeInMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Absolutely great location. The rail to trail is across the street. We took our bikes to downtown, mackinaw bridge area and to the historic mill creek. From the beach front of the 'beach house', you can see the bridge, mackinaw island (the grand hotel, also) and the ferry boats go by. There is a nightly Bon fire. This is a 'charming cabin.' You need to know this is NOT a hotel. Bring your own toiletries including shampoo. Bring your own towels- the provided towels are small and rough. The shower was awkward push in to make it work - it hurt my hand and had my husband make it work. There is no blow dryer either. The pool and hot tub are nice- but NO pool towels. They do allow dogs- this was great- an additional $20 for the weekend. If you need a great location and on a budget and have a dog- this is your place. If you need modern conveniences and looks, skip it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a hidden jewel! Small cottages, right up against the Lake. Great views of the bridge and island. Priced just right, too. Owners were great - took the time to show us their property, which was beautiful with flowers and uber-clean. We booked a small cottage with a view out the front door of the lake. Couldn't have asked for more. They even had a bonfire on the beach for us.

Room Tip: Grab a cottage that suits the # of people in your party - they come in all sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just visited 8-23 Dirty!!! Very outdated, small updates & cleaning would have made a huge difference! Awful pillows, The owner (man) could use a class in customer service & hospitality, he was extremely rude. Should offer more than muffins for breakfast. The indoor pool was freezing, the only good thing about this place was it being right on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#19 of 40 in Mackinaw City
950 reviews
1.4 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 40 in Mackinaw City
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 11490 US Hwy 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £65 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is the last stand of cottages on the water in Mackinaw City. We have a beautiful beach, great view of Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw Bridge. Nightly bonfires, kitchenettes available. We are pet friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing