We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of 'Neath the Birches - CLOSED

'Neath the Birches
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
clinton twp michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently visited Neath the Birches and everything about them is terrific. Our trip to Mackinaw was to celebrate by husband's 60th bday. I called ahead to get some information and spoke with Jeff. Not only did we have a table waiting for our party of 7 when we arrived but the dinner was excellent and the service was outstanding. Everyone is so accomodating and seems to go out of their way to make the visit enjoyable. After our dinner my husband was presented with a bday cake, candle and all! Thank you for making this a special day for all of us!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
G K,

We are very thankful for your wonderful review. We strive to give the best food and customer service to everyone and it was so kind of you to let everyone know that you had such a great time. The next time you come to Mackinaw City, be sure to look us up.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We went here in June to celebrate our anniversary; it was my parents' 50th and our 2nd. We had a great meal and wonderful service. All the members of staff stopped by to wish us a happy anniversary and the owner comped dessert for all hour of us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Angelviking,

Happy Anniversary to everyone who was there. It is always our pleasure to make people special occasions special. Thanks for the great review.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great service out of the tourist area.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went there based on other reviews and was not disappointed. We had five people including two grandchildren. The prime rib was excellent, as was the walleye. Service could not have been better. Salad bar was great, and pricing was very fair. My granddaughter wanted the fettuccine alfredo but with chicken instead of the shrimp listed on the menu and it was done with mom issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David_S48360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
David,

I am glad you and your family had such a great time. Thank you for the great review. We strive to provide the best for our customers and we really enjoy the fact that you have taken the time to let everyone know what a good experience you had. Hurry back and bring your friends we will be ready to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good buffet dinner”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Ate dinner here with a Diamond Tour bus tour last night and the meal was fantastic! Salad bar was good and dinner buffet offered lots of steaming hot choices. My favorite was the mashed redskin potatoes, whitefish and shrimp. I think the loaves of bread were homemade and they were very tasty. The blackberry merlot wine was good. Servers were friendly and efficient. A good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Ken M,

Yes the loaves of bread were homemade. I am glad you enjoyed your evening. It is our pleasure to provide great food and atmosphere for our guests. Hurry back for some more good food.

Sincerely,


Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We would never have just found this place without previous reviews on tripadvisor because its not on the main roads in Mackinaw city but so glad we did go. The food and service was really good and once they found out it was our anniversary they even brought us a small cake at the end of the meal. Would go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Lynne,

Happy Anniversary once again. Also I want to thank you for the nice review. The next time you make it MC, be sure to stop in and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 'Neath the Birches also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing