We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for ship enthusiasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.

Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop for ship enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Mackinaw was the most powerful icebreaker in the world for many years. When the Coast Guard finally retired it, it was immediately turned into a museum. Unlike many museum ships that were stripped when decommissioned, the Mackinaw has all its equipment and looks exactly like the last day it operated. Be prepared for a lot of climbing narrow stairs. The tour takes you all through the ship so you have to use the same stairways the sailors used. It may be a problem for small children and definitely not handicapped accessible, but manageable for the normal person. Be sure to allow plenty of time if you are interested as there is a lot to see and many videos of crew members explaining their areas of the ship. They suggest at least 45 minutes to tour but I took more like 2.5 hours. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Les324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    65
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A workout AND a little education..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a very interesting site to me, since I lived on the Island back in the time when this was a working icebreaker... Saw it going up and down the straits every winder... Saw it get stuck in bad ice, and watched a Canadian ship free it... I had never seen the inner workings of any ice breaker before, and it was fascinating... You have the opportunity of going all over the ship, up and down the ladders, into the engine room and crew quarters ...Really "cool" way to spend part of an afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This ship uscg mackinaw was excellent and learned a lot of information about the vessel and how it broke ice. and also how the engines worked. there is a lot of climbing up and down ladders to the different parts of the ship. I went there with two teenagers 12 and 14 and they enjoyed it. and there was another family there with kids ranging from 2 to 13 and they also enjoyed it when i asked them. and the crew on board was great and knew a lot about the ship and its day to day operations and history of it

I WILL GO BACK WITH MY FAMILY AND VISIT THE GIFT SHOP ALSO.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fshawjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband LOVES boats of all kinds, so he was really excited to see this museum! Very interactive and so many different places to see! I highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SKTola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"felt duct taped together by the Cub scouts"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Everyone had high hopes for this museum because it looked fascinating. Unfortunately, the focus was on selling merchandise instead of informing everyone about the ship's history. The ship was very worn down, which is to be expected, but no work had been done yet in restoring it at all. There was so much potential there but it hasn't been achieved yet.

My son really tried to get into it, but was too old for the kid's stuff, so I wouldn't recommend it for any kids over 8.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc. also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing