We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misrepresented”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 29 June 2013

pool is cold, dirty , ladders are not even attached to the walls, holes all over and cement coming apart. spa jets do not work , dead bugs in it and the condition is poor. the breakfast is a joke they were out of orange juice, fruit, cream cheese. nothing in web site is true

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finewine37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We traveled though Michigan the week of June 20 – 27th and this by far was the worst place we stayed at. The pictures on the website are not accurate at all. Rooms have window air conditioners that do not work. The hot tub is broken along with the lights in the pool area. Pool is not clean and run down. Killed several black ants in the bathroom. The worst part was the night manager who spent 25 min in the pool area talking to my teenage daughter, leaving the front counter unattended. We had a package deal for ferry tickets to Mackinaw Island but had to argue with the night manage to get them to give us the tickets. He kept claiming we did not have “the package deal”. We had the room booked for two nights but left after the 1st due to problems and not feeling safe for my kids. They would not do anything for the second night since we booked online. Nice service!!! Definitely avoid this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your review as it helps us to better ourselves. I do apologize for your visit being unsatisfactory. I can assure you that I will definitely look into the matter of my staff arguing with you as that is completely unacceptable. I do see that you booked the package and apologize for the confusion. As to the air conditioner not working I was unaware of a problem and would have been happy to put you in a different room or have maintenance look at it. Our pictures online are accurate except for the trees in the pool room which we did remove as they were old and needed replacing. The pool was repainted this spring and as to the hot tub we are working on the strength of the jets. I do hope that you would consider staying at our place again and let us redeem ourselves as this is not typical. We pride ourselves on clean rooms, friendly service, and safe environments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank T Aalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked though an online booking company. Glad I brought a copy of my reservation, as they did not have it correctly. They were able to correct it, but thankfully we came early, so that we were able to get the King jacuzzi room that we booked for our anniversary. ( It was the only jacuzzi in working order.)

We booked here in part because it sounded like they had a decent breakfast room. Another recommendation they responded to saying they now had 3 waffle makers... FALSE. (They claimed the two new waffle makers just broke that morning ). It's a cramped room with juice, coffee & small fruit and granola bars available all the time. For breakfast they add mini muffin, a loaf of bread and they have one waffle maker you have to wait for a staff member to make a waffle for you. We ended up leaving & going to the breakfast bar at they cake house down town. (The Clarion had a much better breakfast room several years ago last time I was up.)

Staff was friendly. Location was good for getting to the highway or to the fort/lighthouse. Beds were springy... We did not wake up well rested. Decor is dated & we had to ask to get a remote for the old, boxy tv... We got what $50-$65 would buy in a tourist area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

I would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to make our rooms clean and affordable and try to offer amenities you find at other high priced locations around the area without raising our prices. The breakfast we offer is just a continental breakfast with added waffles, yogurt, cereals and oatmeal; nothing fancy but just something to get you up and ready for the day.

Again, I would like to apologize for your stay and will look into better options for our breakfast area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 October 2012

we were there on oct.6. the heater's fan was so loud that we had to turn it off and sleep through 59 degrees (cold bathroom at 3 a.m. on a bare butt) and turn it back on at 6 am so it would be comfortable to dressed and get into a warm car.(temp was 42 degrees that day) we went there purely based on $. it was the least expensive (44.$) next time we'll opt for the extra somewhere else. on a good side, the mattresses were comfortable and they had a breakfast room for guests. ( coffee, juice, milk, bisquits and gravy, bagels, fresh made waffles, muffins, and fruit)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We made a spur of the moment decision to see Mackinaw City and this hotel was the first we came to. It's right off of I-75, so it super easy to find. It's not right downtown, so its not so congested. Rates were resonable, since it was after Labor Day, so we decided to stay. Breakfast was good, everything was well stocked. The rooms deffiently are dated; ours was clean, which is what I care about. The employees are all really nice and they are locals too!! So, if you have questions, they are a great resource. Their breakfast room is always opened with drinks and they have outdoor seating (as well as indoor) which I bet is great in the Summer. Overall we had a great experience here and cant wait to come back next year and try out their grills too!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travelinggodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and we are happy to hear that our rooms met your standards. Our main focus is always the cleanliness of our rooms, our friendly customer service and offering a great value to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#24 of 40 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
0 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#16 of 40 in Mackinaw City
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
#34 of 40 in Mackinaw City
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £49 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing