We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Iola, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The rooms were great, the location was perfect, and the breakfast was in the glass building in the center of the parking lot. I like making my own waffles, that was great. I would stay there again. The Arnold Line to Mackinaw Island was just around the corner, within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you Stephan for the the great review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you'll consider choosing us again in the future for your next visit to Mackinaw City. If there is ever anything we can do for you feel free to give us a call.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    32
    26
    30
    38
See reviews for
64
58
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Battled with wifi entire time. Staff knows nothing. Walked in musty old smell. A/C horrible. No remote for tv. Room telephone doesn't work. So can't call front desk to complain. No microwave. Then went to fill hot tub in our room and jets sput out a horrible smell. Sink is nasty. Regards to swimming pool couldnt walk in cause no lights at all. Empty parking tells you people are smart to not stay here and we wont next time. Saving money on hotels isnt worth it. Overall nothing works.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiVo_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I do appoligize for your stay not meeting your expectations and would deffinately like to talk to you about your stay if you wanna call me directly. I would have been happy to try to make things right and do understand that your phone wasn't working and had you stopped up to the front desk my staff would have been happy to assist you in makeing the situation right. We can not fix something if you don't tell us though. Please feel free to contact me directly though so we can discuss your stay and maybe give us a chance to wow you on your next visit.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Kent City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a motorcycle trip to see the Truck Show in St. Ignace. Got the King Bed Jacuzzi room. Room was beautiful. Comfy bed, nice furnishings. Microwave and fridge, which was nice for reheating the first night's pizza. (Gotta get BC Pizza when in town!) Jacuzzi worked great. A little rusty or at least brownish water came out for a second when I went to fill it, but it never came back. TV was kind of small for the huge room. When it's that far away, it makes it seem much smaller. Found one spider on my nightstand the second night, but that was really the only cleanliness issue I had. Had a nice walkway around the outside of the room. Since I have to step outside to have a cigar, it's nice to have a place to do it. We were able to park the bike where it could be seen from the room. And the hotel was full the second night, and still wasn't noisy. Front desk staff was very professional even though they seemed quite busy. Kind of a hike from the Jacuzzi rooms to the ice machine, but the huge room is worth one or two longer walks, trust me. Two nights in a top of the line room in a tourist town, for $160? Why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KawiVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the review and I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you'll come see us again next year. Truck show weekend is always the same weekend every year and is so much fun. If there is anything more we can do for you feel free to give me a call. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Desk clerk was closed so they could go to parade .we had to call to get someone to come ck us in.open door to room. HUGE spider on bed! Thin blankets on beds. room needs updated.everything look dated.4 in room only 3 towels. coffee pot, but no coffee.o

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwoodsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I first want to apologize for the stay not being satisfactory and also for the inconvenience when you tried checking in. That is definitely not a typical stay and I do hope that you would consider giving us a chance to wow you by staying here again on your next visit. If there is anything I can do for you or you want to discuss anything with me please feel free to contact me directly at 231-436-5544.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gould City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

While being on the less expensive side in Mackinaw City, this hotel was a complete let down from what is shown on their website. We rented a king-size Jacuzzi room for two nights. The first night we walked into a very musty, stale room with small holes in the carpet and pop (or something) all over the inside door. We tried to turn on the AC and it wouldn't work. Front desk clerk tried to contact a maintenance person but was unable to and said she'd send "someone" to our room when she got a hold of them. She didn't know how long it would take. After about 20 minutes, with my head beginning to stuff up from the bad smells in the room, my husband went to the front desk and asked her to switch our room. Which she did. We moved all of our luggage into our new room then tried to catch up with friends at the pool/spa. The pool had no underwater lighting and was NOT heated! The spa/whirlpool was heated but did not whirl (broken). When we went back to our room I had settled in bed with a book when I glanced at the Jacuzzi tub and noticed the 5 inch "scum/soap" line around it. Too late to worry about it I waited until morning. After a completely lacking continental breakfast (waffles and juice with fruit flies around it) I went to the front desk and asked for cleaning rags and a bottle of spray. The front desk clerk (a new one) asked what the issue was and I explained that the tub had a large scum line around it. She stated "well that's gross!" I agreed. One of the cleaning people was getting his cart ready and he said "oh, wait just a second and took the bottle of spray the clerk had handed me". Nice, I thought, he's going to come and clean it for me. But that wasn't the case. He had taken the bottle to their storage area and returned with a full one, handed it to me with a smile and said "here you are - just leave it in the room when you're done and the maid will get it"!! HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Me, my husband and 11 others were in our group and staying there for the weekend. We will be taking our business elsewhere next time we are in Mackinaw City!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
I apologize that your stay wasn't satisfactory. We did try and make it right by you and was under the impression that everything was fine. I did take the cleaning bottle and go fill it up as you told me several times that you didn't want me the general manager in your room that you wanted to take care of it yourself. I did apologize and as I stated thought that the situation was taken care of. If you'd like to further discuss it with me we can try to make the situation right by you.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family rented 3 rooms here over a weekend. The rooms were very damp and musty smelling. Fairly clean, garbage under the bed but mostly outdated.Also, we had no hot water, would have to let it run forever to get it. We were in 2nd floor rooms which was very tough with babies since there is no elevators. We were sad because the pool was disgusting!!! Our kids could not swim. The floor was filthy, lots of rust on everything and mold. Very outdated! The hot tub didn't even work was a tub of hot dirty water and a broken hanging light fixture over it. The pool even had tons of dirt on the bottom! The breakfast is slim pickings as well. I left I'll from the moldy room! Spend the extra bucks and stay in town and enjoy the beautiful city. Saving a few bucks isn't worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I want to apologize for your stay not being satisfactory. I definitely remember your group as you checked in rooms 219, 220, and 221. I don't like to see any ones vacation ruined. As to the problems you had I would have been happy to address them to the best of my ability had you brought it to my attention or the front desk attention as I can't fix something unless I'm made aware of it. As to the problem of being on the second floor because of you having small children I do apologize but there was no note of a request stating that you would like a first floor room. I do try and always accommodate request to the best of my ability but being that it was a full house I wasn't able to accommodate you. If there is anything I can do for you or you want to discuss the situation more with me please feel free to contact me.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. No issue like the other reviews. The Wi-Fi signal was very weak (room 209) so we had to use our “HOT SPOT”. It was basically just a place to sleep and to move on. Never looked at the pool or used the free breakfast, I prefer a real breakfast, eggs, bacon, etc. There was a Corvette show going on and that’s way the parking lot was awesome.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi get a room close to the hot spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll choose us again. I apologize that the WiFi wasn't working properly and I do assure you it is something that we are working on.
Zachary Coonrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
8.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#19 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing