We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice room, but facilities needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place had great local staff the knows the area and gave great advice on places to eat, best shuttle service to the island etc. they were very accommodating in moving our two rooms to the first floor because they did not have an elevator. For service, you can't beat this place. That said the place needs some TLC to be great. Just the little things like our tub had mineral stains, the pool had a lot of silt, not sure the last time it was cleaned, the hot tub jets do not work, I had to hit the side of our tube tv to get the picture to work. I stress, the place was clean, but just needs a little extra to be great. The breakfast is good, but the little room they service the breakfast from seems dirty because of the empty boxes and mop and bucket that are strewn on the floor and not neatly put away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank John_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you John I appreciate the review. I definitely try to provide clean safe rooms at an affordable price. We are working on updating the property. We just ordered new linen and are in the process of replacing the old tv's with new flat screens. If you have any suggestions of anything in particular that you would like to see please feel free to let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family spends quite a bit of time in Mackinaw in the summers. We always stay at Americas Best. The manager is so friendly and helpful. He always makes us feel welcome. He added fantastic new breakfast food also. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you'll continue to stay with us. If there is anything we can do please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed from April 30-May2, 2014. The room was clean and the staff was helpful, however, the room was very cold. I would guess around 65 degrees, and I am used to a cool house. i requested and received an extra blanket, but was still cold, especially in the morning. Also, our night was interrupted by the room phone ringing at 2:15 am, blinking the "message" light. Despite repeatedly pressing the "0" button, I was never connected to the main desk, or the message center. The phone continued to ring for about 8 min., until I finally depressed the "0" button for two minutes and the ringing ceased and the blinking went out. When I inquired about the problem at checkout, I was only told that the person checking me out was not on duty at the time. I will not recommend this motel to friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the review Beth, I definitely apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. I'm not sure to why your phone was ringing however we did have our phone tech come out shortly after and look at it. I hope that you'll give us another try and let us show you what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was visiting family and stayed at your hotel and Zachary was very helpful in pointing out the changes to the area since the last time I was there your housekeeping was very accommading me as I was a late sleeper. the jacuzzi was great at night to relax and unwind from seeing family I will stay there the next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for the great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to WOW you. Clean rooms and great customer service at an affordable price is what we definitely strive for. I hope that you'll choose us again on your next visit either to or thru Mackinaw City. If there's anything I can do for you please don't hesitate to call me directly.

Thank You
Zachary Coonrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

i stay here for new years and i was very satisfed with the kind careing staff and how clean the rooms was and the service was very good i would recommend my friend's and family to stay here any time i no i will be staying here for now on when i'm in mackinaw city

Room Tip: i would say any room at the america's best value inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad we were able to WOW you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you'll choose us again on your next visit coming to or just passing through Mackinaw City. If there is anything we can do for you please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

the room was clean and nice. the staff was very friendly and helpfull. the breakfast was great.. i will def stay again thanx. the pool room was clean and nice. we stayed two days and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you Debra for the review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay when you were last here and we look forward to seeing you again. If there's anything we can just let us know. I'm so glad that we could WOW you.
Zachary Coonrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The room we stayed in was nice and big with a large tub. It was clean and the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is close to the local attractions. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thanks for the great review and I'm glad we were able to wow you. Its always been our goal to provide great service and clean rooms at an affordable price. I hope that you'll choose us again on your next trip either to or through Mackinaw City. I look forward to seeing you again.

Zachary Coonrod
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mackinaw City/Beachfront Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing