We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed in this Hotel with a bus tour August 2014. If I had a car I would have driven away FAST! Rooms were musty, Mattresses lumpy, Towels thin, Pool filthy, Hot tub pump did not work. We survived, but I would have rather been camping. Breakfast room was clean and nice but food was so-so. They obviously aren't going to put any more upgrades or repairs into this property.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladylarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Thank you for the review. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. The pool and hot tub have been taken care of since your stay with us. While you were here our pool and hot tub were actually undergoing repair and closed. If you have any ideas in particular of what you'd like to see for breakfast please let me know as we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent four nights here as part of a group tour. This hotel needs some major work to bring it into the 21st century. The rooms are old and depressing, fixtures are very dated. Our room had a large jacuzzi in the middle of the room, it and all of the bathroom fixtures were a light cocoa color. Towels were old and yellowing. Even the addition of a flat screen tv would have been nice, but there wasn't one to be found.

The good part is that the room was fairly clean, although housekeeping needs some work. After leaving the first day we returned to find trash still in trash cans, a wet wash cloth on the shower floor, shampoos were not refilled, plastic cups not replaced, and more. We shared this with the gentleman at the front desk the following morning and he said he would check on it. This was fine, but we would have appreciated some sort of apology but it never came.

Breakfast was typical of what you find offered at any hotel - just stay away from the eggs!

Most of our group were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. There are several other hotels in the city to choose from and probably at very little additional cost. Do yourself a favor, and look for another option instead of this hotel.

Room Tip: To choose a good room find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lhall85917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Thank you for taking time to fill out this review. I'm always looking for ways to improve my hotel. I apologize that there was no apology to the housekeeping issue. The issues shouldn't have happened and it is something that I will try to pay more attention to in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and it ends there. Shower head was very low, and shower surround was coming off wall. There was only a sheet and small blanket for bed, and bed was nothing but springs. There were foot prints on the carpet at the end of the bed like someone was electrocuted. Very "Bates Motel." Conitnental breakfast was warmed up microwave food. And we were told you can use hot tub but jets aren't working, super gross.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Jennifer I want to apologize for your stay with us not meeting your expectations. I wish you could've told us about the issues while you were staying with us so we could have fixed the issue or move you to a different room. I unfortunately can't fix something unless it's brought to our attention. Yes we do some of the food for breakfast but I do believe that it is good quality and that we definitely offer a good variety. If you have any recommendations though I would definitely like to hear them as we are always looking for ways to improve.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent 3 nights here last week. I thought that I had made a reservation weeks ago....no confirmation...no reservation. Thursday night was available..and as luck would have it when I checked in Friday & Saturday became available.
This Inn is adequate if you're not worried about frills. It could use little updating, new carpet, new bathroom fixtures. But for the price you can't expect the Ritz. Traveling alone, I can tolerate a lot. I'd rather spend my money in other ways when on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks for the review we definitely appreciate the feedback. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you during your vacation. If there is anything we can do in the future feel free to reach out to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Julie went out for her way to get us reservation at another hotel because I reserved room for wrong dates. Staff helpful with finding attractions and great places to eat. Breakfast was complete with sausage and eggs and French toast.

Room Tip: Railing low on balcony. Poses danger for elderly and someone who drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you Sharon for the great review I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a nice hotel. The rooms were very clean and the service from the front desk was very friendly. Nice location and the way the hotel is set up makes you feel very secure. The breakfast room is nicely located as well. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Families should ask for the big rooms with 3 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review Shannon I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you'll choose us again next time your in Mackinaw City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Close to downtown without downtown prices. Staff was friendly and helpful. Made room for us to park our trailer and gave us extra blankets and towels without us asking. Have Rooms where clean and breakfast was good, there was sausage and eggs offered with all the regular stuff.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Tonya thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing rooms that are clean, safe, and affordable are what we strive for. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#24 of 40 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
0 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#16 of 40 in Mackinaw City
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
#34 of 40 in Mackinaw City
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing