We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location was perfect. Rooms were fine we had a suite, beds were ok. Needed a little updating. They advertised high speed Internet I never got it. Breakfast bar was ok if you wanted the same thing everyday. I don't think the air was working in that area because it got stuffy when there was a few people in there. The view was beautiful out the balcony. Had a hard time parking one night had to park in a handicap spot hoping that we didn't get towed. If we went back I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMelissa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    229
    109
    63
    46
See reviews for
268
281
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A great location... Park your car. Unpack your bags. Hop on your Schwinns and cycle all over town.... Ample breakfasts as well as fine places to eat nearby. Be sure to visit Mackinac Island !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

All in all not a bad place. Great location and nice beach. Staff friendly and room very clean with a comfortable bed. Booked a courtyard room only to find that at tis property, they label the parking lot a courtyard. The view out my window was that of the grill of my car. Was disappointed in that. Breakfast wasn't bad as previous reported by others. It has the standard "free hotel breakfast" fare. Staff there was very attentive keeping all items full despite being pretty crowded. Room probably wasn't worth what we paid. Most likely won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "courtyard" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy-Lou-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were at the Dockside for 3 nights. We had two rooms, both lakeside. The rooms were roomy and very clean! Nice view from our balcony. The front desk and housekeeping were very nice and friendly. The only down side was their breakfast bar. It was good...it was the same bar every morning. No new items.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We decided to go in a different direction this year and headed to Mackinaw City. Generally we travel to the ocean side towns in NJ/MD area and we're used to paying well over $200 for a room with two beds and a bathroom and nothing else. So, the Best Western in Mackinaw was very inviting with free breakfast, indoor pool, waterfront location and access to indoor water parks for around $149 a night (I booked early though the Best Western web site). We were happy with our choice. Our room was clean and updated. The whole property was maintained and the maids did a great job of cleaning our room. If you stay on the 4th floor you have a much smaller balcony than the floors below, but it was still fine for viewing the ferries and dock. Indoor pool was warm and clean and never very crowded. We visited the Pirates Cove and Emerald Cove water parks. They weren't spectacular, but they were enough to keep our kids (ages 11, 9 and 4) amused for an afternoon. I wouldn't stay at these hotels just for the water parks (it was no Great Wolf Lodge), but since it was free it was a nice bonus. Breakfast was fine. I have had better continental breakfasts with a little more selection, but again it is FREE so how much can you complain. The basics were there--cereals, waffles, some fresh fruit, sausage, biscuits and eggs. I will say that there was some noise in the room. You could hear other people shutting their balcony doors and noise from the hallways. It didn't bother me and wouldn't stop me from staying there again, but if you are sensitive to noise it might bother you. The location was ideal; everything was within a 10 minute walk and there were restaurants and shops right across the street. I think the Best Western did have the nicest swimming beach right in front of their building. It's still a lake beach so it's not the greatest sand, but it was wider than the beach at the surrounding hotels, and weren't any big rocks or grass to navigate to get into the water. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western and in the Mackinaw City area!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have smaller balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

NIce hotel, kept up well. Really clean, they even disinfect the tv remotes. Parking can be tight when they are full. Easy walking distance around town. Breakfast they serve is just okay. Would like to see yogart, and more fruit.

Room Tip: MAke sure you get a water side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for a night. Nothing spectacular, but not bad either. The room was comfortable as was the bed. Front desk gave us a deal on a two bed room for the price of a single, as they were out of other rooms.

Very nice view of the lake and the coast guard ship museum. Walkable distance to downtown as well as to Shepler's Ferry Dock. Only bad about the room was that one part of the ceiling appeared to need to be repaired. Also, the parking lot was nearly full at one point and we got the last spot.

Not spectacular, but not bad. I would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing