We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location on Lake Huron and Best Western's reputation for quality. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. However, we discovered a plumbing issue with the bathtub faucet which maintenance could not resolve. Management was unsympathetic and unprofessional. Customer service was non-existant. As a seasoned traveler, I vacation two or three times a year with family and friends. I can honestly say that my stay at this Best Western was the WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD. I have NEVER been treated as rudely or badly as we were treated at this hotel. Thankfully, we left Best Western the next morning and spent the remainder of our vacation on Mackinac Island where we were treated as welcome guests and not criminals. Perhaps Best Western Dockside should send their staff to the Mackinac Island to learn the meaning of "customer service"... they have alot to learn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    247
    118
    65
    47
See reviews for
287
306
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We chose this location even tho the price was higher than many newer ones in the area because we were only going to be there July 4th afternoon thru the 5th noon, and wanted to have a good room to see the fireworks from. For that purpose it was great! However, we could have done what others were doing and not paid the high price for the room - a lot of non guests were driving into the lot, parking and carrying their beach chairs and blankets down to the hotel's 'private' beach, and leaving afterwards. Would be nice if the hotel controlled parking more, maybe with hotel tag/cards in dashes and license plate numbers. Our room was on the lowest level, and beach access was thru our sliding patio door and up 3 steps.

The room itself was dated and dark, the carpeting was buckled in spots, and the floor underneath felt uneven in a few places. Probably because it is partially below ground level. The room had a bad odor after being in it for a little while. Coming into the room from outdoors it first smelled of strong cleaners or air freshener, but then it began to smell bad - almost like a strong odor of urine.

Did not eat at the breakfast buffet. It is located up a set of exterior stairs and over the registration area. Went up, but it was very hot, noisy, and crowded, so opted for a restaurant down the block.

Would not stay at this Best Western again.

Room Tip: Don't forget to take the local magazine of ads given to you at check-in and use the discount cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer39245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

my only complain is the internet. I don't know whether it's because where our room is or it really sucks. Location is great. No complain about the room and food. it's past 4Pm when we arrived and we have to wait for an hour because the room wasn't ready.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie_battungbakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location was perfect. Rooms were fine we had a suite, beds were ok. Needed a little updating. They advertised high speed Internet I never got it. Breakfast bar was ok if you wanted the same thing everyday. I don't think the air was working in that area because it got stuffy when there was a few people in there. The view was beautiful out the balcony. Had a hard time parking one night had to park in a handicap spot hoping that we didn't get towed. If we went back I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMelissa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A great location... Park your car. Unpack your bags. Hop on your Schwinns and cycle all over town.... Ample breakfasts as well as fine places to eat nearby. Be sure to visit Mackinac Island !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, IL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

All in all not a bad place. Great location and nice beach. Staff friendly and room very clean with a comfortable bed. Booked a courtyard room only to find that at tis property, they label the parking lot a courtyard. The view out my window was that of the grill of my car. Was disappointed in that. Breakfast wasn't bad as previous reported by others. It has the standard "free hotel breakfast" fare. Staff there was very attentive keeping all items full despite being pretty crowded. Room probably wasn't worth what we paid. Most likely won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "courtyard" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy-Lou-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were at the Dockside for 3 nights. We had two rooms, both lakeside. The rooms were roomy and very clean! Nice view from our balcony. The front desk and housekeeping were very nice and friendly. The only down side was their breakfast bar. It was good...it was the same bar every morning. No new items.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing