We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great find!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Highly recommended! The staff is very welcoming and friendly. We had multiple food restrictions in our group and they were always willing to meet our needs. The rooms are spacious and unique. We enjoyed sitting out on the 2nd floor balcony in the lovely breeze. It is close to everything; we never needed a car once we arrived.The decorations were quaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    21
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were able to walk everywhere from here, very touristy! The building itself is nice, the rooms are a little outdated and the lighting in the bathrooms could be brighter. The breakfast was the best part of our stay and the cooks were very nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinde, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is my 7th time at the brigadoon always enjoy staying here. The maids know me and rest of staff me know well. I feel like i am part of the family! The room i stayed in was Sarah's Suite. Quite big for a standard room. Even the tv was a flat screen but wasn't there enough to watch it. Always enjoy the people there and everything it has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinman925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Tis was a last minute reservation for us. We love bed and breakfasts so we stay a lot. the facility was easy to find, we'll located for walking and the people were terrific. the decorating was nice, but it was showing a little wear and needs some update. the room was very comfortable, tough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3mpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very spacious room with gas fireplace at the foot of the very comfortable king bed. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly, and helpful. We were on the move, so only spent one night. When we checked in we were told not to get dessert when we go out for dinner because they would provide dessert there. We expected maybe cookies and cake - what we got was a big bowl of strawberry shortcake with vanilla ice cream. It was delicious. Our breakfast the next morning was also excellent. The location is also very convenient - easy walk to the downtown shopping area. We very much enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeZ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We chose to come to Brigadoon on a whim, due to our interest in Mackinaw City and the Island, but even before we arrived we received ominous hints that this was not going to be a good trip.

First off, it is quite an expensive place to stay, especially due to the fact that it is a B&B and not a full-fledged hotel. About a week or two before we even showed up, my credit card was charged the FULL amount of the stay with no forewarning prior to being charged. Now, my family and I have traveled all over the world and have never had such a thing happen before. Furthermore, when I contacted the owner of Brigadoon, she proceeded to lie to me about my card being charged, a silly thing to do seeing as though I was only a click away from showing her my bank statement.

However, I decided to look over this and go ahead with the trip. Upon arrival, we were greeted with no parking, seeing as though their parking lot was very small and we drive an SUV. We proceeded to park on the side of the house where we were greeted by the staff, who didn't seem to be the welcoming sort. One of the two women gave us a very hard time about not trying to park in the parking lot, stating "Well, all of our guests almost always seem to manage to do it." Finally, they offered for us to park across the street after about ten minutes. My daughter said later that would have been the obvious solution to the predicament in the first place, and I couldn't help but agree.

Now, keep in mind, all of this happened before we even stepped foot inside the facility. The actual B&B is very nicely decorated and quant with plenty of seating on the main floor. However, the staff, it seemed, were not very competent. The woman behind the desk (one of the two women who gave us the hard time in the parking lot) seemed out of sorts and eventually told us it was her third day on the job. She seemed completely frazzled and couldn't even work the printer to give us a receipt. The thing that we found most odd was the fact that we actually had to prompt her to give us our room keys, and later in the day when my daughter asked to get more towels in the room, she again had to prompt her to write our room number down to deliver them to the correct room.

And then came the room. It was on the third floor (Room 301, specifically), and only had stair access (no elevator). Thankfully my daughter was there to carry the bags--unless you are traveling with a teenager, I wouldn't recommend staying on the third floor. As soon as we entered the room, we were blasted with muggy heat that seemed so out of place. After all, we were in Michigan, not Texas. We even measured the temperature of the room and it was a whopping 87 degrees. The air conditioning was not on, so we immediately made a bee line for it. The room we had wasn't small per se, but still it took 8 hours (1 o'clock in the morning) for the room to finally become bearable. Something that was a little (well a lot) annoying about this place was that the air conditioning was always turned off after the maids cleaned the room, and within two hours the room would become intolerable. Furthermore, it would have been nice for the maids or staff to turn on the air conditioning before we came, because I am sure they know how hot the room can get.

Trying to get out of the heat as quickly as possible we decided to go to dinner, seeing as though the downtown area is only a stones throw from the B&B. When we went downstairs to ask for recommendations for places to eat, the woman behind the desk (the same as before) brushed us off and said, "Your only a block from downtown, there are plenty of places." Then she proceeded to pick up her phone conversation she had paused when we first inquired.

The rest of the trip seemed to become slightly better after the initial shock of the first day. Brigadoon is located in a picturesque tourist town, ideal for families. Its also steps from the ferry to Mackinac Island. All in all, we would not recommend this place. The service was not the best, the room was only adequate for what we paid for, and the whole experience is something we don't wish to come across again. We would recommend staying in some of the hotel chains they have located in the area, something we hate to do, because we love to support local "Mom and Pop" businesses.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 302 (Suite 2). The room had a king sized bed, a sitting area, and a balcony. We were checking out the sites with our children and wanted a local place to stay. This place had great reviews and they didn't disappoint. Our children (2 and 5) slept in the "sitting room" on a pull out couch which worked out really well. The staff was amazing and friendly. In addition to breakfast they offered a dessert each night. The staff were warm and friendly which made our time there really memorable. The B&B is located really close to downtown which allowed us to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WISCBANNACHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 207 Langlade Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brigadoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing