We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend!”
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Deer Head Inn (Bear room) for 6 days recently. The Inn is the nicest house in Mackinaw City. It is clean and well kept. Our room was just the right size for myself, husband and daughter, who was able to sleep on the fold out couch at night. A second room also served as a sitting room, which had a lovely planetarium effect at night that we all enjoyed. The Inn is situated so you can literally walk out the front door and be within steps of main street Mackinaw.
The breakfast served was good quality and plentiful. I like staying in bed and breakfasts for the privacy aspect and pride that the owners take in their business. The Deer Head Inn lived up to all my expectations. Clean, quiet, comfortable, welcoming, enhanced by privacy that you expect from a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimzeeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were vactioning in Northern MI with family and needed to get away for a night. We kind of randomly picked Mackinaw City and the Inn. My expectations were low as my memory from the 70s was a run down city. But I was wrong and they have rebuilt the whole city with stores and restaurants. Overall the Deer Head Inn was a good experience start to finish. The house is downtown and while the original home is quite old the rooms looks fairly modern. Most rooms have animal heads in them. Our room was quite large with a bath and shower and fireplace. We were very comfortable and breakfast was good. No complaints. Take a walk downtown, enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was mine and my husband's first time staying at a B & B and let me tell you, the Deer Head Inn has set the bar pretty darn high! I spent a lot of time scouring Tripadvisor and every other website trying to find an economical yet cozy (clean/nice) place to stay for our trip to Mackinac Island. The hotels on the island were out of our price range. This place was perfectly priced!

We pulled up the the cute house and already loved the look of the place! Barry greeted us at the door and showed us our room. We stayed in the Lighthouse room. It was super clean and cozy and it was great that we had our own bathroom. There's a fireplace for colder nights and AC if its hot. But with the windows open and the fan on, we were perfectly fine.

Breakfast was also AMAZING! The food was so tasty and filling each morning. It was nice to chat with everyone and Barry also made sure to ask our plans for the day and offer GREAT suggestions as to places to eat, visit and things to do. The location is also absolutely perfect. Just off the main street, so you don't hear much noise but close enough that it's less than a 5 minute walk to the ferry, restaurants, shops and the lakefront.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone! It was the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Deer Head Inn Bed and Breakfast for a weekend getaway. The home is warm, inviting, spacious and most of all very clean! Barry and Nancy are both very friendly and accommodating! The morning breakfast is spectacular! They take pride in what they serve you and how it is prepared. We stayed in the Bear room. The constellations on the ceiling were nice to look at in the evening and tastefully done! They also gave great suggestion for local places to eat and visit! Even gave great advise for Mackinac island as well. Highly recommend a visit and a stay at the Deer Head Inn! Looking forward to staying again perhaps with my husband this time in a different room. Enjoy I know we did!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Deer Head Inn three times and will be returning. The owners are very welcoming yet not intrusive. We have stayed in the Lighthouse Room during our three visits. It is small but comfortable. Breakfast is beautifully presented and always delicious. The location of the inn is perfect with stores, restaurants and parks within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MITraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We really were impressed with this B&B! The owners Nancy and Barry were very nice and they made a delicious, filling breakfast of stuffed french toast, fresh fruit, eggs and sausage. Excellent and convenient start to the day. Nice opportunity to share travel stories with other guests, too. Their location couldn't be better--just steps away from the main road where you can find all of the fudge shops and t-shirt joints you could possibly handle! Plus, it is close to the ferry. I'd say that you only need part of a day in Mackinaw City itself and I'd highly recommend a day trip to Mackinaw Island. The B&B is a handsome home with masculine decor (craftsman/lodge style). Our "Hiawatha" room had a great old claw foot tub and stand up shower in a large attached bathroom. The bed was pure heaven! "Deer Head" Inn is an appropriate name as there are many hunting trophies on the walls of the home. The front porch was a great spot for a glass of wine or a book.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Hiawatha Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were treated to a wonderful experience with the innkeepers. The home was beautiful and the room was perfect. Very clean and tidy throughout. The innkeepers were friendly, knowledgable, and presented us with a delicious breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay again if we return.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandGSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse View Motel
Lighthouse View Motel
#3 of 8 in Mackinaw City
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Property: Deer Head Inn
Address: 109 Henry, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8602
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing