We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunderbird Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Budget Inn Mackinaw(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Lakes Inn(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Budget Inns(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
51
78
45
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
78
45
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancovered poolcontinental breakfastcomfortable staystayed here for one nightyogurtoff seasonsausagethe breakfast areaislandferryofficedocksmichiganbridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed this past weekend, and we had issues with ants in the room a few times and while I understand that things happen, after seeing them constantly afterwards we had to get out of there the next day. Don't expect much from the breakfast, the "Belgium Waffles" just taste like wet cardboard and there is dry cereal and yogurt, coffee, etc. Definitely not the best breakfast in town, but you have to remember its definitely a budget hotel. Shower Hot/Cold was reversed, which was odd, but didn't have a problem with hot water either way so it wasn't that big of a deal. If it wasn't for the ants, we probably would have stayed another night although I wouldn't mind spending a little more and getting a better breakfast. Overall the customer service was good, and Theresea the manager helped us out in refunding our 2nd night because we checked out the 2nd day early morning due to the ants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cshafer2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

I am sorry you found ants in your room. I still have not found any, but i did have the guys come and spray. Hopefully this will prevent anybody else from having this problem. I am sorry you experienced ants. I hope you guys have safe travels and that you give us another try in the future. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just completed a nice, one-night stay at the Thunderbird Inn. The location is great, not far from downtown and easy to find. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and apparently keep the place in great shape. Our room was just fine, with a large dressing area and bathroom, and the jacuzzi worked well to take the kinks out after a long day's drive. The pool and breakfast area are good-sized and spotless, with a nice layout for continental breakfast. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.I loved seeing your car and getting the info on it from you. :) I hope you come back and see us again the next time your in Mackinaw. Safe Travels Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I also booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. My family arrived at check in, got our room, relaxed a few minutes and got ready to go to the pool. This was very important in our mini family vacation to have a place with a pool. The kids were so excited. Until we got to the pool and seen poop in the bottom of it! Disgusting!! We went back to our room, packed everything back up into the car and check out. The desk clerk gave us no hassel, just told him the pool was very unacceptable and he refunded my money and we moved on.
Later in the weekend I was looking for hotels to stay at for another night, I see the Thunderbird Inn listed, one room left for $500! I don't know how rates can fluxuate so much for one place, but I wouldn't spend a dime here!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Unfortunately things happen that are out of our control. We didn't hassle you about the refund as we know how important a pool can be to guest on a warm summer day. If your not happy with us we want you to be happy somewhere else. We hated to lose your business but appreciate the red flag about the pool as we had to shut it down to properly clean it. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I chose this hotel because of good reviews and good price. I was disappointed in the quality. First morning tub filled up to 6" during shower and drained ever so slowly. I informed desk clerk in the late morning and was disappointed in the evening when we got back that it was not fixed. Second call resulted in repairman who "fixed" it. Next morning same thing. Notified desk early in the morning. Came back in evening and still not fixed. Requested new room. He said he would send repairman. Later I called again to find repairman had already went home but we could take room with one bed, so we moved. First 2 days Wi-fi kept kicking us off periodically. Last 3 days it showed we had signal but would say we were not connected to Internet. Shower water would go cold periodically. Pool felt cool and had dirty junk in bottom, which was not appealing so we did not use. One day our room did not get cleaned. Room could stand a better cleaning, like dust top of tv cabinet, clean above shower edge - garbage from last tennant up there. Good things were location, price, comfortable beds, nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa12755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I would love to speak with you directly about your stay as I cannot see your name to see what room you were in to see who cleaned it previous. I would like to speak with them to make sure they are doing there job properly. As far as maintenance goes I do apologize I have since let him go, not that it helps you for your stay, but I wanted you to know I did correct the issue. I deeply apologize and would again love to speak with you so I can make sure no other guest has to deal with these issues. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We enjoyed hotel was clean good location till breakfast on August 2 stay. Male attendant was so RUDE. No fresh cereal bins filled 2 days waffle maker not working properly NEVER ever greeted one guest was so hateful acting, many people were complaining to front desk staff upon checkout. Totally uncalled for with his poor attitude. He Needed a major attitude adjustment. We were there for Mini Cooper rally. Front desk personnel went out of way to be helpful with directions and all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I am so sorry about the breakfast attendant, I am not sure what was going on with him that day but I have since spoke with him about how we do things here. I also got word about it that morning and immediately assigned someone to work with him the next day. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews