We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with beautiful lake views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Buchanan, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with beautiful lake views”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was a last minute find and was a good choice. Close to downtown Mackinaw and Mackinaw Crossings so all you have to do is walk across the street. Located between the ferries that take you to Mackinaw Island. Rooms with lake view balconies have magnificent views and in the morning you can barely open the curtains due to the beautiful sunrise! Only issue would be better lighting in the hallways, we had an end room and the lights are apparently on a timer which at 9 pm you'd think they'd be on so that was a little iffy but other than that, no complaints!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room on the lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Lakeside ! Yes, the morning sunrises from our beach & lakefront rooms are gorgeous. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    72
    49
    31
    23
See reviews for
81
77
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Lakeside (not to be confused with another Comfort Inn down the street) for two nights at the end of June 2014 in a first floor room. The room was clean and the decor was up-to-date. The bed and the pillows were very comfy! I was put off by an envelope left with the maid's first name and a pre-printed "request" to leave something if the room looked good. I did leave a tip however because I usually do that anyway. The free breakfast was good. It consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, a waffle maker, bagels, donuts, cereal, etc. My two complaints were that there were five tables in the eating area inside and the counter was too close to the tables leaving little room to maneuver if there were more than five people trying to get breakfast at the same time. There were outside tables but the weather was too chilly and the mayflies had hatched and were swarming like crazy. The hotel was a quick walk to ferries to take you to Mackinac Island, to area restaurants, and to the tourist shops. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karrygdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for the review. We look forward to having you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here 6/20 & 6/21. Good location, near the ferry docks. The room was ok, nothing special. It did have a mini fridge that was good to have. The biggest problem was the May flies (or Midges they called them) that were still around in late June-- that were just all around the area. (Not the hotel's fault!) If you walked outside, they were landing all over you--didn't seem to bite, but were just annoying. When you opened your room door, in they came! Any outside wall that was white was covered with these black flies. The breakfast room was quite small, didn't have many tables. Not a great choice of food. There was an outside eating area that would have been nice, but again--the flies!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svinNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Yes, those annoying midges lasted longer than usual this year ! Thank you for staying with us. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at four of the beachfront hotels over the years. The Comfort Inn Lakeside is on par with the others that surround it. Certainly cleaner than the Hamilton. Breakfast is the usual instant egg powder, bread products and make-yourself waffles, identical to every other hotel on the strip. It's walking distance to the Star Line ferry. Rooms are clean, pool and whirlpool were clean and my stay was uncomplicated. Internet booking, easy check-in and even easier check-out was uneventful. I would return for the fourth time. No hotel in Mackinaw City is five star. They are all geared for families and short stays. For the price and services, the Comfort Inn Lakeside will meet your needs. I do agree that the breakfast room is woefully too small. I guess that is my only complaint.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We hope you visit us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location and value. Beautiful lake/beach views. Nothing fancy, but nice, modern and clean rooms with good wife and mini-fridg. The best that u will find in Mackinac! Much better value than most accommodations on the island.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Lakeside. Come visit us again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked during the beginning of the Lilac Festival on the Island. The accomodations were nice and the staff very friendly. The only downsides were the gnats and mosquitoes; but we heard they had been much worse a few weeks earlier. Bug spray worked wonders. The free breakfast was a little lacking. The space was small as well as the food selection. All on all though we would book there again. The views from the beach and balcony were awesome!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Denice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We appreciate the feedback. Come see us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was a really nice place to stay the room was great and the view was awesome. The two ladies at the front desk are very friendly and helpful I will be staing here again. I will also be recommending this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeside

Property: Comfort Inn Lakeside
Address: 611 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lakeside Hotel Mackinaw City
Comfort Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing