We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I booked this hotel on Hotels.com, so got a discount through them.. It was cheap, and we got we paid for. The room was sort of clean, but certainly not spotless. Furniture, bedding and carpet are definitely outdated. The breakfast was ok, but not the best.

My major complaint was that at 11:00 pm, after turning in fairly early, we were awoken by a man trying to get into our room. We heard him through the window saying to his wife that they were locked out. A few minutes later we got a call from the front desk asking to verify that we were indeed staying in the room. I don't know if it was a computer glitch or a human error, but being woken up in the middle of the night was not a pleasant experience. I also did not appreciate the lack of apology that we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellarsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    48
    57
    115
See reviews for
125
90
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Horrible dump of a smelly place. Definitely shouldn't be in such a beautiful place. Room smells, bathroom filthy. Not worth the Hotwire price. Staff is okay, dreading breakfast, afraid to step in the tub or use toilet. Disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Orillia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were quite satisfied with the accommodation and the view of the bridge. Breakfast was very good. we felt all in all it was good value for money The service at the front desk was very good. Although it was not the most modern room it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Axe, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Made reservation online. Called hotel and talked with Akiel about being in "Premium" building on the lake. Was told put that request in the comments box. The week before our arrival I confirmed reservation with Scott the manager. Was told couldn't put us in premium building, but could move us there for an extra $20. What a rip off! Cancelled and booked at the Clarion for the same price. Save your time and book anywhere but at this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 87SueL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently. Understandably pet friendly hotels are few and far between so my expectations were adjusted. I have no problem with dated decor, older furniture and carpet but I do draw the line to lack of cleanliness. This bathroom was filthy to the nth degree. A phone call to the front desk prompted a response that I could track down the housekeeping crew to point out the problem. First an foremost a paying guest should never have to do any leg work in order to correct a problem with their room-ever. Upon returning to our room later in the day the problem was corrected only 50%. Shame shame...never again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belding, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This property looks terrific from the picture. Don't be fooled. This used to be a 'mom and pop' one story motel. Probably 60% of the rooms are the old style rooms, not the 3 story building, The rooms are clean but dated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

-When I walked into the room, the bed was amuse, like someone had been laying on it. The bedspread was all wrinkled, not tight and straight and the pillow mushed like someone’s head had been on it. And noticed a paper cup with a cover in the waste basket. I told the front desk about the way I found the bed and she seemed very unconcerned. “I don’t know, don’t know how that could have happened”. The second day the bed was neatly made, nice, tight and crisp like it should be

-The towels looked like they had just been thrown up on the rack, I would think they would be neatly stacked.

-The caulking around the bathtub was loose and mold and mildew in the grout of the tiles around the tub.

A large gap around the door letting cold air seep in.

I went to move a chair and the arm came right off.

Not at all pleased and would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go there.. Keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mackinaw City/Beachfront Area
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 917 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Beachfront
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Quality Inn Beachfront
Quality Inn Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing