We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I question why they don't pay us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
ann arbor
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I question why they don't pay us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We travel a lot!! So I'm to the point where I'm wondering how these places stay in business. First we're in Mackinaw City for an overnight. Its a tourist trap- nothing more-- so you won't find quality here in any form-- believe me we've tried. By the time we settled into our 2nd room for the night, first one didn't meet our reservation requirements, the second one was okay. Until we were ready to sleep, then we discovered that the second set of doors in the other bedroom would not lock. So someone walking by could have opened the door. We ended up putting a chair under the handle -- great security. Breakfast-- every place in Mackinaw City offers a 20 something long breakfast bar. All right out of the Gordon Food Service boxes. Cereal, breads, carbs, some powdered eggs. You make waffles. All on paper plates. Yum!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    164
    123
    70
    44
See reviews for
270
158
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the AAA rate made it an great value, and the breakfast was hot, fresh, and wonderful. All of the employees we dealt with were kind and friendly. We would definitely stay there again ... and mackinaw city.com really did have the BEST rate for this particular motel for the date we requested.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

"The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and courteous and offered information that we did not have in order to make our stay pleasurable. The breakfast bar was a welcomed amenity and provided an excellent hot breakfast for hotel guests. Over all, a wonderful getaway. I would reserve a room at the Clarion without hesitation."

Room Tip: Start by checking the reviews on the hotel website or other travel sites. Do not rely on reviews alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG5512DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the better Choice Hotels in Mackinaw City. Our room was large on the lakeside, clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was large enough to accommodate many guests in October on a rainy, windy weekend. The breakfast room was a long chilly walk outside as was the pool house. Breakfast was typical, nothing special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holland49423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the nicest hotel I've stayed in for many years. People at the front desk were smiling, welcoming, and so efficient. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, way beyond a continental breakfast. The housekeeping is just excellent and the housekeepers were polite and friendly and took very good care of us

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is really only a 3 star. Outside view of the hotel leads you to believe its very nice. However, rooms are dated, stained carpets and overall old feeling. For the price we paid, we were disappointed. Stayed in much nicer for a whole lot less money. Staff not overly friendly, come off rude. Internet was not good, however, after calling front desk, Dave did fix it for us and it worked great from then on. Dave is friendly and does help you to have a pleasant stay. However, it changes somewhat the minute you check out, he seemed to not be quite as friendly anymore. Only one ice machine for the whole hotel, not conveniently located by pool area. It was close to ferry dock though and beach front is pretty . Breakfast is not bad, however, found staff to hide behind in the kitchen and not pay attention to refilling unless asked. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomcat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked a 2-room suite, which was spacious and beautiful. They placed us in Room #421, which was the highest floor and a stellar corner balcony, from which we could see both The Mighty Mac and the Lake. I wanted to stay on the balcony the whole time -- it was that beautiful. The Hotel sits right next to Arnold Ferry Line, which isn't a bother at all. It's cool to see the ferries arrive and depart. You were able to close off one bedroom from the other -- very nice! The breakfast was a nice array of hot and cold items. Check in/out were quick and easy. They give you a travel guide that contains coupons. I worried that this Hotel was far from downtown, but it really isn't. Great location, great views, great room!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Property: Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing