We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ask for anything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't ask for anything”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel has gone downhill over the years. It used to be a great place to stay because of the two room suite option, but now all of the cons far outweigh the two rooms. The overall attitude we got was that since it was end of season, we should just be happy with what we got. Our request for a quiet room on the top floor was not originally met and when they finally moved us to the top floor the room was musty and we thought maybe they had already been shut up for the season. The front desk then put a family of 11 in the room next to us, so the "quiet" was not happening. We moved yet again and the suite was even worse. There were cobwebs in the windows and dead insects. One of the heaters did not work and there was no coffee. By that time we decided to just suck it up and finish our stay. The staff kept getting an attitude when I would walk across the parking lot to the lobby area for more towels, coffee cups, etc.
Our stays here in the past have been better, but for whatever reason this time was a comedy of errors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    171
    131
    82
    53
See reviews for
294
171
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This Clarion is quite large compared to many Choice brand hotels and is 3 stories, with several stairwells in each building. We asked for a quiet room (king) and no sooner got settled in on the 2nd floor, adjacent to a stairwell, than we noticed clearly hearing everyone thumping up and down the stairs. We asked to be moved and the desk staff cheerfully gave us to a top floor room with 2 queen beds. The balcony with a harbor view was a bonus. Everything was in good shape and clean.
Breakfast is served in a large hall with ample capacity, maybe even enough to keep up in full summer tourist season; unusual for most hotel breakfast rooms. Good selection of choices, too.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again, but probably not during their busy season.

Room Tip: For quiet, go to the top floor and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great getaway hotel with a beautiful view of lake huron! We were upgraded to a suite that had two bedrooms and a balcony. The room viewed downtown mackinaw city, top of the mackinaw bridge, lake huron, and the islands. The room was clean, comfortable, and overall well maintained. The décor is a little outdated and the one wall unit heater/ac didn't seem to work correctly. The parking area is a little odd but that is being picky. Overall it is a great hotel and if you want to be on a sandy beach it is perfect. On the edge of town but easy walk or drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor if you want a great view. Ask for the two room suite that overlooks mackina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swartz Creek, MI, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Upgraded to a double room/bath which was nice of them. Each room with a bath of it's own. Appointed well and worth the money to stay here off season (spring/fall). Summer rates are too high but considering the area in line with other hotels. The free breakfast is OK, but powdered eggs and dried up sausage not for me. Rather pay and get a nice breakfast elsewhere. Only stayed one night since usually stay across the bridge at St Ignace for much more reasonable rates and more mom/pop type of motels.

Room Tip: Rooms court side in the fall of the year are best priced, since darkness is earlier who needs the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichTravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We travel a lot!! So I'm to the point where I'm wondering how these places stay in business. First we're in Mackinaw City for an overnight. Its a tourist trap- nothing more-- so you won't find quality here in any form-- believe me we've tried. By the time we settled into our 2nd room for the night, first one didn't meet our reservation requirements, the second one was okay. Until we were ready to sleep, then we discovered that the second set of doors in the other bedroom would not lock. So someone walking by could have opened the door. We ended up putting a chair under the handle -- great security. Breakfast-- every place in Mackinaw City offers a 20 something long breakfast bar. All right out of the Gordon Food Service boxes. Cereal, breads, carbs, some powdered eggs. You make waffles. All on paper plates. Yum!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the AAA rate made it an great value, and the breakfast was hot, fresh, and wonderful. All of the employees we dealt with were kind and friendly. We would definitely stay there again ... and mackinaw city.com really did have the BEST rate for this particular motel for the date we requested.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

"The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and courteous and offered information that we did not have in order to make our stay pleasurable. The breakfast bar was a welcomed amenity and provided an excellent hot breakfast for hotel guests. Over all, a wonderful getaway. I would reserve a room at the Clarion without hesitation."

Room Tip: Start by checking the reviews on the hotel website or other travel sites. Do not rely on reviews alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG5512DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Property: Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing